Share your thoughts on multitasking

Jump to Last Post 1-11 of 11 discussions (28 posts)
  1. Blue and Gray profile image73
    Blue and Grayposted 6 years ago

Hello Everyone!

I'm curious as to how you manage your time considering that some of you here work part-time. Do you multitask? If yes, how?

1. Readmikenow profile image94
      Readmikenowposted 6 years agoin reply to this

I am not good at doing more than one thing at a time.  My wife can be listening to a book, cooking dinner and watching the news on television and keep everything straight.  I can only do one thing at a time.  I'm good at disciplining myself to do what I have scheduled.  I think about time limits and put them on the schedule.  I can do many things as long as I follow my schedule.

2. Kierstin Gunsberg profile image94
    Kierstin Gunsbergposted 6 years ago

This is actually my PT job which I do from home while caring for my kids and going to school. It's a juggling act, especially because I don't think my family takes me seriously because I do everything (school, writing) from home. To them, it looks like I'm just playing on my computer when I'm not paying attention to them.

Yet, I make as much writing from home here on HubPages as my husband does at his second job outside the home, so it's not like I'm sitting around doing nothing.

I'm just sitting around working while flagging 10,000 questions from my husband and kids while still managing to write somewhat coherently and pass my classes.

My best advice for multitasking is to prioritize certain things for certain days of the week so that you always know what you're doing when you wake up and you're not scrambling to catch up on anything.

Also, if you have family at home, stick your earbuds in when you're writing. You don't even have to listen to anything, it just tricks them into thinking you're not listening and leaving you alone to work like they would if you were at an out-of-the-house job.