Should I Leave Hubpages?

Jump to Last Post 1-8 of 8 discussions (16 posts)
  1. alahiker28 profile image87
    alahiker28posted 3 years ago

I have over 50 featured articles on HubPages. Many of them have received comments indicating that I am a very good writer, etc. I did used to make money on HubPages but then the rules changed about Amazon product links and referral trackers. I went from making dollars a day to making less than a dime a day. It takes hours and sometimes days to research and perfect a good article. We can't all write for free. Then I see profiles of folks earning good money on Hubpages. Is my writing that bad or am I just missing something about the new Hub world without Amazon product links and referral trackers. Is anyone really making money?

1. OldRoses profile image94
      OldRosesposted 3 years agoin reply to this

I'm guessing that your traffic has fallen because you wrote a lot of travel articles but people have stopped travelling due to the pandemic.  There is no need to leave HubPages.  Try to write articles that are relevant to people's experiences now, what they are searching for information on now and I am sure that your traffic will pick up again for those articles.  Once the pandemic has subsided and people start travelling again, the traffic on your travel articles will start to rise.

Also, ad budgets have been slashed at most companies so CPM has fallen on the ads on our articles.  For instance, my traffic is way up compared to last year, but I am making barely more money than I did last year because CPM is down so much.

Hang in there.  Don't get discouraged.  This is a difficult time for all of us.

2. Sherry Hewins profile image92
      Sherry Hewinsposted 3 years agoin reply to this

You can always just take a break and leave your articles here. Unless you have a better purpose for them, there is no reason to take them down.

2. DrMark1961 profile image95
    DrMark1961posted 3 years ago