jump to last post 1-7 of 7 discussions (19 posts)

What happens when I click "Share with followers"?

  1. simeonvisser profile image86
    simeonvisserposted 6 years ago

    When I click on it, it just says "Hub shared!". But what happens with the hub? Where does it show up for my followers? How did I share it?

  2. Pcunix profile image92
    Pcunixposted 6 years ago

    I never noticed that before.

    It can't be that it just adds it to the stuff that gets send out in email, because that happens automatically, I think.

    I think I'd be leery of that one until we know what it does. I don't want to be annoying people with extra notifications!

    I can't find anything in the learning center that addresses it. The intent may be that if I read YOUR hub, I can share it with MY followers and that clicking it on your own hub is meaningless?

    1. simeonvisser profile image86
      simeonvisserposted 6 years agoin reply to this

      Yes, exactly. I want to know what I'm doing smile



      That sounds reasonable really. But HubPages should indeed have documentation on this so we know what happens and how we can/should use it.

  3. profile image67
    logic,commonsenseposted 6 years ago

    I think it means that all the naked pictures on your desktop are emailed to everyone you know! smile

    1. Pcunix profile image92
      Pcunixposted 6 years agoin reply to this

      So did you get the ones we sent?

  4. saleheensblog profile image62
    saleheensblogposted 6 years ago

    your followers get an email notification that you have published a new hub.

    1. Pcunix profile image92
      Pcunixposted 6 years agoin reply to this

      No, they get that anyway.

      1. Pcunix profile image92
        Pcunixposted 6 years agoin reply to this

        Doesn't it go there anyway and automatically?

        1. saleheensblog profile image62
          saleheensblogposted 6 years agoin reply to this

          nope, as far as I am concerned.

          1. Pcunix profile image92
            Pcunixposted 6 years agoin reply to this

            I think it does. That's the email we get every morning about 'New hubs by your favorite authors".  I don't think you have to do anything but hit Publish for it to be in that.

            1. saleheensblog profile image62
              saleheensblogposted 6 years agoin reply to this

              Well, not sure.

              But one thing for sure is that you can share again if you wish. I mean you can re-share using that option. Many a times I get notification about a much older hub that means the author has shared the hub again. First time after being published the hubs may be shared automatically but for sharing again you can certainly use share with followers option. At least new followers get notified then if not including the ones that have been notified already.

  5. sunforged profile image76
    sunforgedposted 6 years ago

    it publishes to the hubfeed

    1. saleheensblog profile image62
      saleheensblogposted 6 years agoin reply to this

      I think feed update is automated, it appears even if you don't share. not?

      1. sunforged profile image76
        sunforgedposted 6 years agoin reply to this

        sure - hubs publish to the feed when they are brand new and just published , they also share to the feed when you hit the share with followers button

        might be good to notify followers when you make an update or edit


        and yes, if you share another hubbers hub it will show up in your feed for your followers to see.


        its all about the feed (   .   )

        1. saleheensblog profile image62
          saleheensblogposted 6 years agoin reply to this

          ok, i think you are right. sad

  6. Pcunix profile image92
    Pcunixposted 6 years ago

    For the heck of it, I just did that on an older hub I have recently updated.

    I do not see it in http://hubpages.com/feed.  Not yet, anyway.

  7. sunforged profile image76
    sunforgedposted 6 years ago

    i think thats somehow related to the same issue that has stalled hubtivity for the last 8 hours.

    there is no question about what the share with followers feature does.

    1. Pcunix profile image92
      Pcunixposted 6 years agoin reply to this

      I'm sure that's it, though everything else is showing up there.

      Didn't somebody get upset with you a few months back because you had updated something and pushed it to the feed?  A "follower" who apparently didnt really want to know anything? I forget the details, but it seemed very silly of them.

      1. sunforged profile image76
        sunforgedposted 6 years agoin reply to this

        lol, yes, I was actually looking for that thread as an example - but seems I dont need to dig it up. smile

 
working