jump to last post 1-1 of 1 discussions (7 posts)

generateearnings.com website

  1. Jlbowden profile image90
    Jlbowdenposted 6 years ago

    After doing a little detective work I had come across a site that viewed one of my hubs. After I clicked to see who viewed it, the link took me back to a site called generateearnings.com Upon further investigation I learned that I was spotlighted as a hubpages member with an article dedicated to the community. I assume this was initiated approximately three months ago, because the profile picture is off-center and I have since corrected it. Also I have noticed under the webmaster section that another hubber by the name of JessShow is also listed with some of her hubs on that site. My question is has anyone else had issues with generateearnings.com using their material and profiling them without permission? I certainly know that no individual from this site contacted me for permission to do anything. And am waiting to hear back from JShow to see if she was aware of this as well. To add I am trying to figure out if this is copyright infringement issue, or should be classified and reported to hubpages team as some other matter?  Thank you for all of your feedback in reference to this post.


    1. sofs profile image82
      sofsposted 6 years agoin reply to this

      Looks like your widget and Jess's widget are placed on the site... I am not sure if it is a copyright infringement, ( should be if you have not given permission) but it should be reported to the staff and the thread would be better on report a problem for the other hubbers to become aware of these activities...

      1. Marisa Wright profile image99
        Marisa Wrightposted 6 years agoin reply to this

        Why? If someone posts your widget on their website, you should write and thank them!  They're giving you free backlinks.

        I wouldn't be happy about them reproducing my whole profile if I were Jlbowden, but it is free exposure and free links, so on balance I wouldn't be complaining too hard. 

        If it was me, I think I'd write and ask them if they could only use part of my profile - or perhaps I'd give them a unique "blurb" just for them.

        1. Glenn Stok profile image98
          Glenn Stokposted 6 years agoin reply to this

          I can understand the concern. The owner of that site took his profile text verbatim and posted it on a Spotlight page. That may cause duplicate content problems for the SEO ranking on the profile. It would be okay if someone wanted to offer a spotlight of a Hubber and asked them to provide a description to be posted, rather than just taking the entire profile from HP without asking.

          1. Marisa Wright profile image99
            Marisa Wrightposted 6 years agoin reply to this

            Sorry if I didn't make myself clear Glenn, because I agree with you to some extent.

            That's why I said that if it was me, I would write to them and offer them an alternative "blurb" instead of using my profile verbatim.

        2. IzzyM profile image89
          IzzyMposted 6 years agoin reply to this

          I'm with Marisa on this. You have got yourself some nice backlinks from the site and all they really copied was your profile info.

          It might even be easier to just change your own profile, than ask them to change theirs.

          After all, they might just delete the lot if you write to them!

          1. Jlbowden profile image90
            Jlbowdenposted 6 years agoin reply to this

            Hello Izzy and Marisa:

            Thank you all for your feedback in reference to this issue I was having with this site. You know you both bring up a good point and I did not look at it from that viewpoint. JessShow for one as well as the generateearnings website was doing me a favor by creating backlinks for me. Only thing they should do, is not place all of my profile on that page. Maybe take some key points and a few of my more popular hubs. Again I appreciate all the feedback.