jump to last post 1-7 of 7 discussions (12 posts)

skylancer.net and skylancer.com - FRAUD sites - watch for click surges

  1. cclitgirl profile image95
    cclitgirlposted 5 years ago

    I know of three hubbers (including me) that are having this problem.  One or more hubs show a surge in pageviews.  When you look at your traffic sources, one of the two above sites come up.  These are FRAUDULENT sites.  They evidently are based in Bangladesh.  I don't know how or what they're doing, but one or more hubs will show thousands upon thousands of pageviews.  It's bad - it can get you kicked off of HP and AdSense.  Make sure to report it to HP as soon as you notice it.  I have no idea what's going on, either.  Does anyone else?

    1. donotfear profile image88
      donotfearposted 5 years agoin reply to this

      Haven't seen it...but thanks for the warning!

    2. cclitgirl profile image95
      cclitgirlposted 5 years agoin reply to this

      Here's some more info I've learned:
      You need to use this link to report a problem:
      Then, report to AdSense using this link:
      https://support.google.com/adsense/bin/ … t&rd=2

      1. wabond profile image79
        wabondposted 5 years agoin reply to this

        Thanks for the infomation, as I have also had a very big surge in traffic on one of my hubs from this site as well.

    3. Cardisa profile image91
      Cardisaposted 5 years agoin reply to this

      These sites, are they some sort of search engines or social networks? How would they get our hubs?

      I am just trying to understand because right now I am only getting traffic from search engines and places that I have placed my links such as social networks or Stumbleupon, Pinterest etc.

  2. Marcy Goodfleisch profile image97
    Marcy Goodfleischposted 5 years ago

    One of my hubs was hit, too - and the fraudulent clicks can really add up if you areaway from your site and don't catch it. I unpublished the targeted hub and reported it to HP and to AdSense.  HP has blocked the site from accessing HubPages and said to let them know if we get problems from AdSense. I know several people who were targeted, but I don't know how or why certain  hubs were selected. Or what in the world this site was trying to accomplish.

  3. cclitgirl profile image95
    cclitgirlposted 5 years ago

    Cardisa - there were two websites that would target a hub and slam it with tens of thousands of pageviews.  This is bad on so many levels- you can get banned from HP for "artificially" boosting your pageviews, de-indexed from Google and banned for life from AdSense.  That's why it's so important to keep track of your pageviews.  If they go into the thousands SUDDENLY, then something is wrong.

    1. Cardisa profile image91
      Cardisaposted 5 years agoin reply to this

      Thanks for letting us know. I will keep checking to make sure that I have not been targeted. I think so far I am good. What were these people thinking?

  4. Marcy Goodfleisch profile image97
    Marcy Goodfleischposted 5 years ago

    I'm curious as to whether anyone has seen an incident similar to this when AdSense did get involved?  To my knowledge, there were no ad clicks during the attack the other day, according to HP. Because HP determined no targeted Hubbers were instigators, we are not in jeopardy here. Thankfully, our site understands the full picture. But it does raise the question aboutbhowvAdSense would handle it if ad clicks were generated.

    Certainly if we created fraudulent traffic, we would (and should) be held responsible. But if we are victims as well, I would hope Google would take that into consideration.  This must happen all over the world, on a regular basis. Malicious sites are not limited to the issue we had this week.

  5. Nell Rose profile image93
    Nell Roseposted 5 years ago

    Thanks for the info, I will definitely be keeping an eye open for it.

  6. mljdgulley354 profile image60
    mljdgulley354posted 5 years ago

    A lot of hubs are being copied word for word and photos on this site http://education.bigezine.com/six-month … 28965.html This is one of my hubs that has been copied to this site and I noticed more hubs that have been copied

  7. vasmenon profile image76
    vasmenonposted 5 years ago

    Recently I was informed by one of the hubbers that fanbox.com is also a copy and paste site...Any of you have any information on this???