What if we have things somewhat backwards here?

Jump to Last Post 1-3 of 3 discussions (22 posts)
  1. profile image57
    greyhorseposted 11 years ago

I'm a researcher into the emotions.  For 20+ years I have sought to find out what emotions are and why.  I insist that they have a basis--a foundation--and I believe I have found that foundation.

Personality has often been confused with emotions, I believe (cf. Tim LaHaye's Four Temperaments theory based on the original Greek Humours--Sanguine (blood), Melancholy (black bile), Phlegmatic (phlegm) and Choleric (bile).  These are easily translatable into four emotions:  Happy, Sad, Indifferent (Proud, really) and Mad, respectively.  And emotions tend to be characteristic of us--even chronic at times.  The question to me was, what do they mean?  Here is my contribution.

When we are Happy, we are wanting air--space--and seeking cooperation to get it.  When we are sad, we are wanting food & water--energy--and we are seeking cooperation to get it.  When we are indifferent(Proud), we are wanting air--space--but this time we are protective of that air--space--which is why we close ourselves in.  When we are angry, we are wanting food & water--energy--but this time we are protecting that food & water--energy--which is why we fight.

Characteristically or chronically Happy people can be found in or coming from crowded or overpopulated situations.  Sad people can be found in or coming from situations of relative poverty.  Indifferent(proud) people can be found in or coming from environments of extreme overcrowding or overpopulation--think of Japanese or Norwegian peoples for example.  Mad people can be found in or coming from environments of true hardship.

Is there anyone out there who understands these things?

1. profile image0
      Beth37posted 11 years agoin reply to this

This could have been a hub. A lot of effort for we wee plebes.

1. profile image57
        greyhorseposted 11 years agoin reply to this