jump to last post 1-4 of 4 discussions (4 posts)

How does the United States College system work?

1. ArtAsLife profile image59
    ArtAsLifeposted 6 years ago

How does the United States College system work?

Im a high School Graduate with no idea of how the College system works, I would like to major in Psychology, or Philosophy, if possible get a degree in both at the same time. I hear there is Prerequisites everyone has to take for any position. What im asking for is where I get started? What is the time frame for degree's? as well as any other tips anyone has for me.

2. Man from Modesto profile image83
    Man from Modestoposted 6 years ago

If you have a junior college system in your state, you can very likely enroll immediately. In California, I have enrolled at four different JC's. Each required only a few pages for an application. Next, you want to determine to which 4-year campus you will transfer.

Here is the gold: academic advisors are idiots. I have studied at several different campuses (lifetime learner). There are usually just one or two advisors who actually know what they are talking about. Here is how you find them:

Walk into the counseling office and take whatever appointment they give. In the appointment book, look to see who is highly requested and start there (this rule works for haircuts, too). Ask the most difficult question you can muster. Ask a question like, "I am an engineering transfer. I want to take research writing, and I believe this course can transfer as both an essay course and a science elective. Can I do that? I need it in writing, and I need you to show me where it is justified in the university system literature."