jump to last post 1-9 of 9 discussions (9 posts)

Why sometimes it's so hard to begin your studying at home?

1. edekeful profile image81
    edekefulposted 5 years ago

Why sometimes it's so hard to begin your studying at home?

Because we are used to excitement and our brain indicates, that this activity isn't so exciting compared to other things? Or something else?

https://usercontent1.hubstatic.com/6737568_f260.jpg

2. Jewels profile image84
    Jewelsposted 5 years ago

I'm hitting that wall of not wanting to study as I feel I'd rather be doing something else more exciting.  I have no way around it but to push through it.  But I still don't want to do the course I've signed up for.  I have to stay focused on why I began it in the first place.  I am a mature age student; my school days were the worst days of my life so this is part of the resistance.  It brings up the space of learning I had to endure. I hated it.  It hasn't changed much so I see!  And doing an online course - geez, you have to be really motivated and love study.  I'm aspiring for a miracle to continue!

3. Bedbugabscond profile image98
    Bedbugabscondposted 5 years ago

It could be e number of things. Environment is an important factor in the learning process. Studying, or taking classes, in the same environment  increases comprehension and retention. At school, the environment is built around learning. At home there are so many distractions. At school, it is focused, yet at home there are so many choices. While everyone has different choices and environments, they are all distracting. When studying at home, a person should make a routine, and a space dedicated to studying. This can help.

4. edhan profile image60
    edhanposted 5 years ago

It is the surrounding environment that affects your mood in studying.

Some people prefer to study with music in the background while others want it to be silent. It is somehow dependent on your own preference.