Philosophy help!!

Jump to Last Post 1-20 of 20 discussions (128 posts)
  1. Rafini profile image81
    Rafiniposted 13 years ago

I'm a beginning Philosophy student, and the in-class circles of discussion are not helping me to learn what I'm supposed to be learning!  Just what am I supposed to be getting out of this class??  lol

We began by discussing Psychological Egoism & Cultural Relativism, and soon will be discussing Divine Command Theory.  I understand PE to be 'me, me, me'!  And CR to be 'majority rules'.  Divine Command Theory, if I remember correctly, is basically saying we have no free will.  (I learned something of Philosophy when I was much, much younger!  and it was probably a mix of self-learned and one on one instruction.) 

Anyone care to join a discussion and help me relearn what I've forgotten?  lol  The instructor said the purpose of the class is to critically evaluate moral standards, understand moral reasoning, and (I think) to help the student determine right/wrong about the way things should be.  I know I can do it, I've done it before.  The problem is I don't know the correct steps to take, the terminology, or the basic ideas that brought me to my belief system. 

Where do I start?  Thanks!  smile

1. Shahid Bukhari profile image59
      Shahid Bukhariposted 13 years agoin reply to this

Philosophy ... is your Understanding of the Existent's Reality... It is necessary, if you do not Believe in Divine Origins, and Man's Eventual Accountability.

One does not learn Philosophy ... thats an understanding by Rote ... your
      repeating what Plato or Zenos said...

You are however, free to either Live the Correct Belief, or adopt your known Philosophy.

2. profile image0
      Twenty One Daysposted 13 years agoin reply to this

DCT does not openly say humans have no free will,
      it implies a condition of predetermined thought and potential/limitation based on divine process.