ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Doomsday Movie Review: An English Horror Film

Updated on September 19, 2012

What Did You Think of the Doomsday Movie?

3 out of 5 stars from 1 rating of Doomsday Movie Rating

Doomsday On Amazon

Well, as I have mentioned on my other hub, "Dark Secrets", I am not much into English films. This one was OK, and so I gave it 3 stars. Among the cast are Rhona Mitra, Bob Hoskins, Adrian Lester, and Alexander Siddig-all of which I have never heard of. The movie begins in Glasgow, April 3rd, 2008. An epidemic called the "Reaper Virus" which was developed from a single micro organism, infects nearly the entire population.

There are mass evacuations of those not infected, but those who were infected, were left to die. They were sealed in by huge walls. The idea was to allow the victims to die within the quarantined area, however, many survived. These people, thinking that everyone on the other side of the world was dead, began to go crazy-looting, rape, murder, and due to the shortage of food, begin to eat dogs, rats, and of course, other humans.

The movie jumps to the year 2035-the present. At the beginning of the movie, during the evacuations, a mother begs and pleads for soldier to take her daughter. A brave soldier offers his place so that the young child may go. She was infected with the disease, but it only effected her eye. Once we are brought to the present (2035), we see her all grown up (and quite beautiful I might add). She is a soldier (named Sinclair) and her new "eye" is actually a camera. It is a little cheesy when she take out her eye and can control it with a hand-held device and uses it for reconnaissance purposes.

She and a team of soldiers are sent into England after a second outbreak occurs-inside the quarantined zone-to see if everyone is dead, or if there is a cure. As I mentioned before, there is still a vast amount of people living in the area and the second half of the movie reminds me of an older movie: "Mad Max".

There's a lot of action at this point and some soldiers are killed and others captured. One is even burnt alive, then eaten by the people watching his execution. There were scenes that reminded me of ancient times of the Romans when they all gathered to watch people die unspeakable deaths. Now I don't condone their behavior, but it results from the government lying, treatment, and abandonment.

Sinclair is caught but escapes and rallies the remaining soldiers from her team, and gets away. They are in pursuit of a Doctor Kane, who was supposed to find a cure. Finally, the movie switches again and you would swear that you were in Old Tymes in "Camelot" during the "Canterbury Tales" era. Men on horses wearing suits of armor...Anyway, they find out that Dr. Kane is living well in a secluded castle where he tells them that there is no cure; it was all a lie.

To quote the doctor; "We have prevailed here, not because of science, but by 'Natural Selection'-survival of the fittest." (Darwin, anybody?) A long (really) story short, the prime minister becomes infected and later commits suicide. This movie was a true English Epic. I doubt that I will watch it again!

Horror Movies To Die For!

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • J.S.Matthew profile imageAUTHOR

      JS Matthew 

      7 years ago from Massachusetts, USA

      lol! Thanks for stopping by again Jlava!

      JSMatthew~

    • Jlava73 profile image

      Jennifer Vasconcelos 

      7 years ago from Cyberspace and My Own World

      Great Review of what sounds like a movie I will skip.

    • J.S.Matthew profile imageAUTHOR

      JS Matthew 

      7 years ago from Massachusetts, USA

      ruffridyer thanks for the comment. I enjoyed this movie as well, I am just a tough critic! Thanks for stopping by.

      JSMatthew~

    • profile image

      ruffridyer 

      7 years ago from Dayton, ohio

      I watched this movie at the theatre. It was awesome! It was Mad Max, 28 Days and Escape from Newyork/L.A. wraped up into one movie.

    • J.S.Matthew profile imageAUTHOR

      JS Matthew 

      7 years ago from Massachusetts, USA

      Thank you RNMSN! I hope you enjoy it! Thanks for the comment.

      JSMatthew~

    • RNMSN profile image

      Barbara Bethard 

      7 years ago from Tucson, Az

      see, now this ole lady thinks this would be one she could watch and enjoy!!! thank you!!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)