ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Doubt Movie Review Articles and Interaction

Updated on September 19, 2012

"Doubt" Movie Available on Amazon

5 Stars

This is a very difficult movie to review. I was raised Catholic and I was very sad to learn about the scandals of sexual abuse in the 1960's through the 1970's. One thing that I will say is that Meryl Streep plays an awesome roll as the Principal of the Catholic school. Since I spent most of my childhood in the 1980's in Catholic school, I can tell you that her character was very accurate.

When I went to school, the nuns used to hit us with a ruler, make us wear a "Dunce" hat and sit in the corner, and many other forms of corporal punishment whenever we misbehaved. Although they were rough, I don't really feel violated or "abused". In fact, I think that I have gained a certain respect towards others, due to my upbringing.

Now, back to the controversial movie. It’s 1964, St. Nicholas Catholic Church in the Bronx, NY. Basically, there is a priest, Father Flynn (played by Philip Seymour Hoffman) who is the headmaster of the school and is the Pastor of the church. Sister Aloysius Beauvier (Streep) is the principal of the school and she begins to see changes in the boys at the school. She watches their interactions with Fr. Flynn and begins to suspect that something is wrong.

Sister Aloysius is approached by another nun, Sister James (Amy Adams) that she suspects that something is wrong when her student, Donald Miller (Joseph Foster) returns to class with alcohol on his breath. I will also add that Donald is the first (and only) African American student in the school. Sister Aloysius begins to monitor the interaction between Donald Miller and some of the other students.

Convinced that something is going on, the two Sisters approach Father Flynn and try to get him to confess that he is having relations with Donald. Father Flynn denies any wrongdoing and due to her naivety, Sister James believes him. Sister Aloysius, however, is not so naive.

After monitoring Father Flynn for a while, Sister Aloysius meets with the priest and gives him an ultimatum. Although he doesn't admit to anything, he does request a change of churches. Unfortunately, this is how the church dealt with such scandals; they hide the truth and send the offending priests to other parishes.

Now when I was a kid I was an alter boy and I spent a lot of times with the priests in my church. Luckily I was not among the many victims of the horrible crime. I both pray for and feel for all those who were affected by this dark age within the Catholic Church.

Catholic School

Did you Go To A private Catholic School?

See results

Horror Movies to Buy!

Catholic School II

Would You Send Your Child To Catholic School?

See results

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • J.S.Matthew profile imageAUTHOR

      JS Matthew 

      6 years ago from Massachusetts, USA

      Hello Madurai! To be honest, I don't know how well this one did at the box office but I enjoyed watching this myself. It is a controversial movie and maybe a lot of people didn't want to watch it. Thanks for your comment and for SHARING!

      JSMatthew~

    • Madurai profile image

      Madurai 

      6 years ago from Online

      Mathews, I believe that this movie was not so much successful, because first time I am hearing the title of the movie. But you have presented nice review. Socially shared:)

    • Seek-n-Find profile image

      Jenna Ditsch 

      6 years ago from Illinois

      It's on my list of "to rent for for free" movies. :-) I'll be sure to let you know what I think.

    • J.S.Matthew profile imageAUTHOR

      JS Matthew 

      6 years ago from Massachusetts, USA

      Hello Seek-n-Find! I appreciate you finding this ancient Hub and breathing some life into it! I rarely give 5 stars in my reviews but this movie definitely earned it. Getting movies from the library is a great idea. I used to do that at the college library and the movies were free! Take that, Netflix! I hope you can get this title and enjoy it as much as I did. Be sure to come back and tell me what you think after you watch it! Thanks for stopping by!

      JSMatthew~

    • Seek-n-Find profile image

      Jenna Ditsch 

      6 years ago from Illinois

      Thanks for SHARING! :-) I love movies and am always looking for which ones to watch (or not watch) next. I know this Hub is not a recent one, but since I get many of my movies from the library, I've read this just in time.

    • J.S.Matthew profile imageAUTHOR

      JS Matthew 

      7 years ago from Massachusetts, USA

      Hello again Painted Seahorse! I think they did a good job too of maintaining sensitivity to viewers while filming this. The ending was quite interesting because you just don't know the truth. This was a good one! Thanks for stopping by!

      JSMatthew~

    • Painted Seahorse profile image

      Brittany Rowland 

      7 years ago from Woodstock, GA

      I enjoyed your review of the film. I was hesitant to watch it at first because the sex scandals are a very painful subject, but I think "Doubt" handled the issue with sensitivity. Also, it divides viewers because it leaves the priest's guilt or innocence ambiguous (hence the doubt). Nice review.

    • J.S.Matthew profile imageAUTHOR

      JS Matthew 

      7 years ago from Massachusetts, USA

      Wow! I can't believe that I never noticed that you commented 20 months ago...that's when I started on HubPages! Not sure how I missed it, but thanks for the comment (a little late!)

      I went to Catholic Schools in New England for more than half my life. I even graduated from a Catholic High School.

      I never had any bad experiences in this way, but I know it has happened to many people, both males and females of all ages, and we can only pray that it stops.

      It's been 20 months-I hope that you get this message and thank you for stopping by and taking the time to comment!

      (So Long Ago!!!)

      JSMatthew

    • christine almaraz profile image

      christine almaraz 

      9 years ago from colorado springs

      I actually enjoyed it. It's that deep kind of movie that leaves you with your own conclusions about the ending. Great review. I once saw a documentary about nuns called "The Women in Black." I thought the title was very fitting. My husband went to a private catholic elementry, middle school and high school. He didn't have a bad experience but he knew of kids that did. I like you pray that those dark days are behind us.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)