ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Zombie Movie Reviews: Land Of The Dead

Updated on January 29, 2014

Land Of The Dead

 George Romero has directed the 3 previous dead films Night of the Living Dead, Dawn of the Dead and Day of the Dead and this is the fourth instalment of the seemingly neverending zombie apocalypse, although this one is set in the future we don't exactly know the timeline, because that's not important, it's all about the zombies and we see some colourful zombie characters in this film.

Like other zombie films this one has the great novelty of getting to see some zombies dressed up in vaious guises from office workers to butchers to even a clown, but perhaps the main thing about this film is that the zombies have a lead character in this film, who sort of takes charge against the living as it seems all they want to do is just live their undead life in peace, but not in this film.

In this film we see the zombies evolved to handle weapons a bit better and this is something that is played quite well I think because the nature of evolution is to adapt and so the zombies have done that and probably want to live their own lives, just going through the things they did when they were alive.

There are some classic zombie moments when the dead rip peoples throats out and bite huge chunks of flesh out of the foolish and sometimes downright ignorant and blank canvas personality of characters that we see in this film, of course the main characters are slightly interesting, but the focus is on the zombies for a change and at certain points in the film you almost feel sorry for them when the humans come in a slaughter half of them.

The main part of the film is the zombies fighting back with guns and whatever weapons they can find and try to use, although they are best at biting and ripping off some arms and entrails.

Most of the effects are handled by Greg Nicotero who has done many films of horror and there was a great zombie effect in the film, although you only see it for less than a minute and he is a zombie that has his head hanging off and it's only just attached to the spinal column and it turns up and you think "hey where's it's head?" and then it jumps forward and the head flips forward too biting someones arm....classic horror!!

Just like the previous zombie films there are moments in the film were the zombies are shown having a good old munch on some very realistic body parts, although you think they must wear a napkin because they make a right mess, but then you realise zombies don't give a shit!

This was a great film, although it had a larger budget than most of the others, there was a few nods to some of the other zombie films, like the classic bub zombie make up from the Day of the Dead in the 80's and for those who can't remember bub was the zombie character that was almost trained to act like a human and did in some respects.

Following Land of the dead there was also Diary of the Deadwhich was lower in budget but still had some classic zombie killing moments, but all in all this was a great film that brought back the memories of watching lots of zombie films as a kid and making my granny cry as she wasn't a fan of these video nasties!

 

Land Of The Dead Movie Trailer

Land Of The Dead Review

Land of the Dead zombies aplenty! Image copyright zombie specialists! 2010.
Land of the Dead zombies aplenty! Image copyright zombie specialists! 2010.

Land Of The Dead Review Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      4 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      I like the scene were there is a zombie that appears it has no head and then flip it's head forward and bites someones arm...awesome!

    • ControlledChaos1 profile image

      Don 

      4 years ago from Tennessee

      I love the scene where Dennis Hopper picks his nose while saying how zombies creep him out. Great stuff!

    • profile image

      ruffridyer 

      7 years ago from Dayton, ohio

      One thing I thought was dumb was the people fighting over the money.

    • aZhunter profile image

      aZhunter 

      7 years ago from Northern Arizona

      Good Review thanks !!

    • lorddraven2000 profile image

      Sam Little 

      7 years ago from Wheelwright KY

      I loved the lead zombie. He kind of painted us a picture that had not been so clear in recent zombie flicks. Great review.

    • lorddraven2000 profile image

      Sam Little 

      7 years ago from Wheelwright KY

      I loved the lead zombie. He kind of painted us a picture that had not been so clear in recent zombie flicks. Great review.

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      8 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      And it had Dennis Hopper in it and he was always cool!

    • profile image

      MrMidNight 

      8 years ago

      I have to admit, I really enjoyed this movie, a zombie flick with a zombie that has leadership skills, what more can you ask for, hahahaha....

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      8 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      Yes it is a great zombie film, so cheers!

    • eyeofh profile image

      eyeofh 

      8 years ago from New Jersey

      I love this movie...I am a sucker for all things zombie...thanks for the great review!

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      8 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      Cool sorted ace amazing!!

    • xunlei profile image

      xunlei 

      8 years ago

      yeah, it is great ,thanks

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      8 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      Cheers Ethel!

      I may try and get through my full dvd collection because there are a few that aren't horror films to review.

    • ethel smith profile image

      Ethel Smith 

      8 years ago from Kingston-Upon-Hull

      Not my sort of film but a good review

    • waynet profile imageAUTHOR

      Wayne Tully 

      8 years ago from Hull City United Kingdom

      It is robert!

      Zombies in this film kick ass!

    • robertsloan2 profile image

      robertsloan2 

      8 years ago from San Francisco, CA

      Oh that sounds like fun! Thanks!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)