jump to last post 1-15 of 15 discussions (15 posts)

Most beautiful female singing voice in the history of recorded music?

1. Wesman Todd Shaw profile image98
    Wesman Todd Shawposted 5 years ago

Most beautiful female singing voice in the history of recorded music?

Me, I'm always going to say "Karen Carpenter" as my answer.

No apologies either, thanks.

Who do YOU think is the female with the most beautiful voice in the history or recorded music?

2. fpherj48 profile image76
    fpherj48posted 5 years ago

the 50's/60's had Patsy Cline.....70's had Karen Carpenter and I will agree she had a beautiful voice........more recently, I'd have to go with Whitney....and sadly, all 3 of these great talents had much too early, tragic deaths.  The one living female vocalist I like quite a bit is Celine Dion......I also like Mariah Carie....and Kelly Clarkson.   Is this too many?   Too bad.  I'm not good at making one choice from a menu!........In history???   You could have narrowed it down, Mr. Shaw.

3. KF Raizor profile image61
    KF Raizorposted 5 years ago

I think it depends on the genre.  Karen Carpenter's voice was spectacular, but I don't think she could have tackled the blues.

My vote would go to new Country Music Hall of Fame inductee Connie Smith.  As Dolly Parton once said, "There are really only three women singers in the world:  Barbra Streisand, Linda Ronstadt, and Connie Smith.  The rest of us are only pretending."

4. MickS profile image72
    MickSposted 5 years ago

Judie Tzuke.

5. NayNay2124 profile image74
    NayNay2124posted 5 years ago

I would have to say Minnie Riperton. I also am big fan of Karen Carpenter.

6. phdast7 profile image83
    phdast7posted 5 years ago