Nursing homes - good or bad?

Jump to Last Post 1-32 of 32 discussions (39 posts)
  1. starme77 profile image81
    starme77posted 15 years ago

what experiences have you had with family members in nursing homes? good? bad?

1. sandwichmom profile image59
      sandwichmomposted 15 years agoin reply to this

There is a need for these facilities but on a limited basis. Unfortunately those with little income can't get very much in home help- but the wonderful government of ours will pay for your care in a skilled nursing facility(pet peeve I have). I did work in 2 different facilities; one with an alzheimers unit and specialty rehab. Families often can't handle the aggression and wandering day and night of a dementia patient; especially if the spouse needs help too. I am a case manager with elderly and always prefer them to stay home or live with relatives- but some need the structure of a facility. I have one family that has tried several times to bring their dad home- but his behavior has put people at risk- he beat up his wife- he woke up and thought strangers had broken in- it was awful. He seems better in a nursing home. On the other hand some do not belong in a nursing home but have no other way to get any care.

2. sooner than later profile image61
      sooner than laterposted 15 years agoin reply to this

I think that they are terrible. Most people die very rapidly in the ones around here.

I have heard of good ones in places like Scottsdale, AZ- but there goes your retirement.

3. Laura Thykeson profile image63
      Laura Thykesonposted 14 years agoin reply to this

Please read my hub on the horrendous issue we had with our mother in a nursing home. It is under "Abuse of the Elderly In Nursing Homes - A Sad But True Story, by Laura Thykeson. Not all are bad, but because of what we went thru, I would rather die than be put in one.

4. rhamson profile image69
      rhamsonposted 14 years agoin reply to this

Try if you can to avoid them.