jump to last post 1-5 of 5 discussions (5 posts)

Have you ever felt low on motivation and a phase of lacklustre? How to get over

1. sriparna profile image81
    sriparnaposted 6 years ago

Have you ever felt low on motivation and a phase of lacklustre? How to get over it?

I have been an enthusiastic and dedicated teacher all along, suddenly going through a jaded phase, not interested in my work anymore, doing everything as a chore. I am feeling as if I have reached a point of saturation, any advice?

2. Jlbowden profile image90
    Jlbowdenposted 6 years ago

Hello Sriparna:

I do not think that it is unusual to have a lack of motivation or enthusiasm.  Particularly in the society we live within today. Occasionally we all get a bit bored or tired of the same routine day in and day out. I myself and friends that I have spoke with-feel like this from time to time as well.  If you have been feeling like this more than three times a month, possibly you are starting to suffer from some sort of depression, or could have undiagnosed mixed bipolar disorder.  Or on the other hand, maybe your going through a change of life.  I know some women experience this when they reach a certain age.  Also schedule an appt. with your physician.  Maybe your overdue for a good physical exam, that could uncover a slight deficiency in iron for example.  Also eating too much sugar, could also give you the blues.  Hope some of my advice and suggestions helps you out somewhat.  Remember though-you are not alone, because a lot of people out there have experienced this during one time or another throughout their lifetimes.

Jlbowden

3. profile image0
    AlienWednesdayposted 6 years ago

Yes. If you can take a vacation that may help. Or find a new way that you can teach to get your enthusiasm back. Even maybe a different type of teaching position? Also, maybe go back to a time that you were really full on enthusiastic and remember what you were doing then that kept the fire going.

Good Luck