jump to last post 1-6 of 6 discussions (6 posts)

Can cracking your neck for years cause sudden damage?

1. ii3rittles profile image82
    ii3rittlesposted 6 years ago

Can cracking your neck for years cause sudden damage?

I have been cracking my neck, pretty much every day for the last 4 years. I slowed myself down once I started getting horrific pain. I try not to do it at all now. Problem is, while I have been having some pain, my neck hasn't felt too bad, up until early this month. Since then I have been in so much pain I haven't been able to do anything.I actually feel pressure in my head from it. I get headaches too. I also have horrible shoulder pain. I do get anxiety and panic attacks but I don't know if this is related. Anyone know what the pain can be? Had x-rays, mri's, ect. nothing wrong.

2. Curiad profile image78
    Curiadposted 6 years ago

Well, I don't have an answer for the question can cracking your neck cause damage, however I can offer a couple tips. I have studied martial arts for many years and stretching is a major import for a healthy body especially before exercise.

Try this, stand comfortably in a quiet place, tilt your head to the left as far as you can comfortably go. Hold that position for 20 seconds and then raise your head to vertical. Then repeat this to the right.

Each time you do this, try to press just a little further until you reach the point that you simply have no more movement left in that direction.  The goal is to stretch the muscles slowly a little at a time and gradually increase the movement.

You might find that your vertebrae pop or crack as you say when you do this slowly.

I am not a doctor or PHD but I feel this is good advice and have used this method more than 20 years.

3. BeccaWood profile image74
    BeccaWoodposted 6 years ago