jump to last post 1-8 of 8 discussions (11 posts)

What causes the panicky sensation of falling--

1. DzyMsLizzy profile image96
    DzyMsLizzyposted 5 years ago

What causes the panicky sensation of falling--

whether off a cliff, or over backwards in a chair, etc.--when one is just drifting off to sleep, and not yet truly dreaming?  It always brings you wide awake again.
    I've heard it said that it means your heart skipped a beat, but I doubt that...

2. Dubuquedogtrainer profile image58
    Dubuquedogtrainerposted 5 years ago

I don't know the answer to your question, but I do not believe that it is a result of your heart skipping a beat. I used to work as a certified critical care nurse and have extensive knowledge and experience in cardiac care. I have never heard anyone describe that feeling as you have and the cause be skipped heart beats, nor have I read that in any professional literature. Could be - I just have never heard of it described that way. I have also had my own heart "skip a beat" and have not felt that particular sensation.

1. Anjili profile image83
      Anjiliposted 5 years agoin reply to this

I have only experienced this while fast asleep. It was quite frightening and often jolts me awake. A very unpleasant feeling

2. Dubuquedogtrainer profile image58
      Dubuquedogtrainerposted 5 years agoin reply to this

Hope you figure out what the cause is - perhaps you should see a physician about it. I'm sorry I don't have more information to share with you.

3. yssubramanyam profile image59
    yssubramanyamposted 5 years ago

certain feelings can not be expressed literally. the feeling of free fall  too gives same /similar feeling. excessive depression or over anxiety are likely to illusion your mind in waking state or sleeping state. i experienced similar topics in yahoo answers. i widely came across as a 5th level contributor. thanks for giving me an opportunity with a lovely hub.

4. edhan profile image61
    edhanposted 5 years ago