Do the effects of PTSD ever go away?

Jump to Last Post 1-5 of 5 discussions (10 posts)
  1. peeples profile image95
    peeplesposted 4 years ago

Do the effects of PTSD ever go away?

The nightmares, depression, numbness, do these feelings ever completely go away?

2. profile image0
    JThomp42posted 4 years ago

Peeples..... I am no expert by far on this subject. I can only speak for myself who has PTSD. It has been many, many years since the events occurred that caused me to have this dreaded disease. I can say that the symptoms never seem to go away. Especially if a traumatic situation occurs in your life to really set it back off. This has happened to me several times. Then the disease is in full force again. I am currently on medication to try and control my PTSD. I would not wish this on anyone. Especially the nightmares and waking up in cold sweats. Horrible!!

Saying that.. I hope and pray that there will be a day when this disease will go away.

peeplesposted 4 years agoin reply to this

Thank you JT. Medications never worked. I tried them for years and they seemed to make me worse even after cycling through multiple medications. I'm sorry you go through it. I wouldn't wish my dreams on anyone.

3. fpherj48 profile image77
    fpherj48posted 4 years ago

peeples.....I would love to bring positive news.  However, PTSD occurs as a result of traumatic "negative" events in one's life, whether isolated or over a lengthy period.
    While there are varying degrees of PTSD and each individual & circumstance are very unique.....the "effects" (PTSD) caused by this Trauma are lasting.  I avoided using the term "lifelong," for the sole purpose of conceding to those who believe "ALL THINGS ARE POSSIBLE."...a matter of opinion in any given subject.
    Thus far, in 100% of the in-depth studies done with victims of PTSD, there has been no admission of being totally and miraculously cured.