Hypoglycemia Questions- please give me some input!

Jump to Last Post 1-4 of 4 discussions (9 posts)
  1. Bethisawesome profile image61
    Bethisawesomeposted 12 years ago

I have a couple questions I was hoping you guys could help me with. I was diagnosed with hypoglycemia about 6 months ago. For the last 6 years or so prior to being diagnosed, I ate only a meal at night(normal sized). Now I eat 3 times daily but breakfast and lunch are usually just enough to keep my levels up in the 60s-70s. Usually a KIND granola bar for breakfast. The months leading up to the diagnosis I had signs like dilated pupils that people would comment about and extreme nausea, but I didnt know they were symptoms at the time. I am a firefighter so eating on time all the time isnt always an option. Eating when I feel an episode coming on is really not an option because usually thats when I'm on a call. My BMI is in the very normal range and I eat pretty healthy food. I am a female. I guess the questions I have are: Why does hypoglycemia lead to type 2? (as my dr said I would become) Does the food you ate on Day 1 affect how your levels are on Day 2? (because mine seem to) All of the research i have done so far indicates that being in the 50s range is dangerous to your body, so why does my dr seem unconcerned when I reach 51 almost daily? (But I'm still functional, maybe shaking and showing other signs tho) Why are my hands always cold and get even colder when im getting low? (That was the initial reason I went to see my doc and ended up being diagnosed after a fasting BG test)
    Is there anything other than exercising and eating that can raise my levels when I'm low? (Exercising works very well for me but I cant always drop everything and do that)

1. tsmog profile image84
      tsmogposted 12 years agoin reply to this