jump to last post 1-5 of 5 discussions (5 posts)

Do you require a certain creative flair to begin and be successful at writing?

1. Martyn Wright profile image84
    Martyn Wrightposted 5 years ago

Do you require a certain creative flair to begin and be successful at writing?

In general I'm new to the whole aspect of creatively putting pen to paper to write poetry or other articles, I feel I'm not the least bit articulate and for that reason I've always tended to avoid writing. I'm happy with a camera in my hand but feel it's time to diversify.
    Does this creativity come naturally, or like most things in life does it have to be learned. I feel some of my work is reasonable, I also feel some is lacklustre..

2. dmhenderson profile image60
    dmhendersonposted 5 years ago

I think it depends on what you plan on writing. Poetry-writing is generally conceded to be a creative pursuit, so I would answer yes if that's what you're planning on doing. On the other hand, I think engagingly written and informative pieces can be written by pragmatic, knowledgeable people who don't necessarily prioritize creativity.

Harder question, of course: how do you define creativity?

3. profile image0
    Larry Wallposted 5 years ago

I think some skill or talent is needed to be a productive writer. Lawyers write a lot, but some of them do not write well. Technical papers maybe accurate, but because they lack that small level of creativity that makes the technical stuff interesting, then they have not been trained enough as writers.

Technical manuals written by technical people for the lay person are the best example of why it is important to have that certain unknown factor that turns 20 words into a sentence that is retained and not one that loses the reader half-way through it.

4. CBartelmey profile image78
    CBartelmeyposted 5 years ago