jump to last post 1-7 of 7 discussions (8 posts)

What value are newspapers today?

1. tsmog profile image83
    tsmogposted 2 years ago

What value are newspapers today?

2. FatFreddysCat profile image99
    FatFreddysCatposted 2 years ago

I work in the newspaper industry, which as anyone can tell you, is not exactly the hippest place to be anymore, so I find myself asking this question all the time (haha).

In terms of "value" I don't think papers can compete with the big news web sites or TV stations on major stories of national/international importance anymore, but they can still provide service to their readers on a local level, i.e. how the big stories of the day affect the businesses/people in your area. That's where most print publications are trying to narrow their focus now. They know that if something big happens, people aren't going to wait till the next day's paper to read about it, they're going to jump on Yahoo or CNN or Fox News right away. In the morning, however, a local daily or even a weekly newspaper can take that same story and "fill in the blanks" by going into more detail than a TV news report or blog can provide.

Plus, we got color comics and lots of coupons on Sundays. big_smile

1. Kiss andTales profile image81
      Kiss andTalesposted 2 years agoin reply to this

News paper is still valuble , there may come a time when the computer of the Internet may not be available , but an old fashion news paper will be sought after.
      Some times I take the time and buy from a local box, the price gets higher every year,

3. poetryman6969 profile image62
    poetryman6969posted 2 years ago

Since we don't have a birdcage that needs lining, not much!

4. profile image0
    Kevin Goodwinposted 2 years ago

Newspapers themselves are no longer necessary but people still need a way to get the news. Whether they turn to the television or go online they are still getting the news through some time of media source.

5. Stacie L profile image90