jump to last post 1-5 of 5 discussions (9 posts)

How long have you been writing? Why do you write? What have you accomplished?

1. Luke Holm profile image95
    Luke Holmposted 14 months ago

How long have you been writing?  Why do you write?  What have you accomplished?

It's time to brag about yourself.  I am still new to the writing community and lack writer's wisdom.  My friends don't care about writing, so I'm in uncharted waters.  I need some insight from experienced writers about their history as an emerging literary composers.  Please help!

Length: ~4 years.
    Reason: To connect, make money, and grow as an individual.
    Accomplishments: 2nd place in a short story competition, a hundred or so promising pieces of writing, the gift of sharing my mind with another.

Thank you!

2. Kathleen Cochran profile image83
    Kathleen Cochranposted 14 months ago

I started writing poetry when I was a teenager.  Studied news writing as my major in college.  Worked as a reporter and editor as a career, but always had ideas for novels.  Six years ago I left the working world and have written six books.  Some of them are on Amazon. I've had encouraging success but certainly haven't made the fortune most writers dream of.

I write because I believe I have something to say that readers might find some value in for themselves.  I can't imagine ever putting down my pen and saying "I'm done."

Luke Holmposted 13 months agoin reply to this

Kathleen, a beautiful answer and purpose for writing! I too write for the love and to express myself.  You have inspired me to keep working hard.  Thank you smile

3. Jodah profile image90
    Jodahposted 14 months ago

I have written poetry on and off since school but, other than my wife, very few people ever read it. I also wrote the odd short story, but that was the same deal.