ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Suze Orman - Women and Money 401K IRA Retirement Savings and Investment Planning

Updated on April 23, 2011

Retirement Savings and Investment Planning

How to Manage your Money

Suze Orman is one of America's leading financial experts, she has forever transformed the concept of money for many people, simply by teaching us to recognize the emotional relationship so many of us have with money. By looking at different strategies for retirement savings and how we can begin investment planning for the future, Suze Orman lays the groundwork for many people looking for retirement planning advice and how they can get a handle of their finances.

There are a lot of great books on personal finance management, but Women & Money takes it to a new level. This is a book every woman should read, it has some great advice and gives some interesting points to get you thinking. Suze Orman covers everything from 401K IRA contributions, planning for retirement money and even budgeting money for emergencies. This comprehensive book will walk you through the necessary financial strategies to get you on a sound financial path.

Investing Money and Saving for Retirement are Easy with This Retirement Planner

Personal Finance Management

Retirement Savings and Investment Planning
Retirement Savings and Investment Planning | Source

Women and Money - Money Management Skills

This is a must read for all women! Ms. Orman gives basic, practical advice on personal finance management. Women & Money is an easy to read book written for those of us who aren't necessarily financially savvy. Ms. Orman explains the principles of sound financial planning and how to manage your money, in an easy to understand and engaging manner. She breaks it down, chapter by chapter, into manageable steps. Don't get me wrong, this book goes well beyond the basics, but it's presented in such a way that it is manageable and easily understood.

Investment Planning and Retirement Savings from the Countries Leading Financial Planner

Do you know when a 401K investment is a good idea? Or how to take advantage of a 401K rollover IRA? Many financial strategies and investment planning strategies are explained in enough detail that implementing the steps is within reach.

What's unique about this book is its approach and perspective for women. It really made me rethink some of my previous notions regarding finances and money management skills. For example, Suze Orman suggests that NOT putting money away into our own personal retirement account is selfish! As women we tend to put others first, especially our families. It's hard for us to think about taking money from the family finances and putting it into an account just for us, but having sufficient retirement money is absolutely necessary. The thought behind this is, if you can't afford to put the money aside now, how will you be able to afford it when you are no longer working and your income is reduced? Ms. Orman goes on to explain that budgeting money and doing without a little now is better for our family than having us dependent on them in our old age. After all, if we aren't set up for retirement, who's going to take care of us? Certainly not Social Security!

Ms. Orman also encourages women to have accounts in their name alone. It's fine to have joint accounts with your husband/partner, however, you need to have your own personal financial accounts as well. In the event of a divorce or death, a woman who has established her own credit and financial security, independent of her husband, will be in a much stronger position financially.

As an added bonus, TD Ameritrade is offering a fantastic incentive for readers of Women & Money. It's certainly an offer you shouldn't pass up!


Suze Orman Money Management Tips

How to Manage Your Money - Suze Orman

Money Management and Your 401K Investment

Suze Orman's book, Women & Money addresses the complicated (and often dysfunctional) relationship women have with personal finance. Ms. Orman's direct, non-condescending style is perfect for this subject matter--she begins with the premise that "Women can invest, save, and handle debt as well and skillfully as any man" and then tackles the important question--"So why don't they?"

The same ladies that can earn doctorate degrees in esoteric subjects just shut their eyes when it comes to money. Although Suze takes shots at what the reasons might be behind this behavior, whether it's upbringing, cultural, or anything else, it doesn't really matter.

What matters to Suze is DEALING WITH THE PROBLEM, and does she deal with it. In this entertaining, easily read book, Suze will teach you to EXECUTE SOLUTIONS to your money problems.

This is a wonderful book. There are great practical tips for the beginner with money or the veteran. This book also stresses a woman's empowerment in her life. I highly recommend this book for any woman.


You can also watch her on the Suze Orman show where she gives tips of investment planning, credit card debt relief, debt consolidation and ira investments. The Suze Orman show is a great place to learn the ins and outs of investing and financial management from beginner to pros, there is always something new to learn.


Here's a handy Retirement Savings Calculator:

Retirement Savings Calculator



Comments

Submit a Comment

  • Lamme profile imageAUTHOR

    Lamme 

    8 years ago

    Lanna, I agree ... I've actually given this book to several of my friends. There's a lot of good information in it.

  • profile image

    Lanna 

    8 years ago

    I bought this book and it has some excellent advice. This book should be required reading for every woman. Thanks.

working

This website uses cookies

As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

Show Details
Necessary
HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
Features
Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
Marketing
Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
Statistics
Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)