jump to last post 1-8 of 8 discussions (15 posts)

What have you done for the people affected by Typhoon Haiyan?

1. Darksage profile image79
    Darksageposted 4 years ago

What have you done for the people affected by Typhoon Haiyan?

I am a Filipino and proud to be one. The typhoon is internationally named as "Haiyan" but here in the Philippines is called as typhoon "Yolanda". Considered to be one of the most strongest typhoons in this planet, it devastated an entire city and many more. As a Filipino, my family and I tried to reach out to these people., but they desperately need more help. As a hubber or writer, I would like to know what have you guys done here in Hubpages to help our people out. And please help our people any donations or any way you would like to help will be good. Thanks smile #bangonpilipinas

https://usercontent1.hubstatic.com/8530318_f260.jpg

2. davidlivermore profile image99
    davidlivermoreposted 4 years ago

As horrible as it is to say - nothing.

When I make donations for any cause, I end up finding out that the donations lined the pockets of greedy people, go towards more advertisements for more donations, etc.

Celebrities push to have donations made, but honestly, if they just did the donating, those people on a fixed income wouldn't have to.

Darksageposted 4 years agoin reply to this

Well, yes, that is true, but there is sure answer to what really happens to the donations. Most are still reaching the desired destination, however, some end up getting left behind. Good answer though, for it is true.

2. profile image0
      CalebSparksposted 4 years agoin reply to this

David, it sounds like you need to find more reputable charities. I never donate money without thoroughly checking the organization for myself. As for the "celebrities," many of them donate more money than you ever will, so give 'em a break...

3. Author Cheryl profile image87
    Author Cherylposted 4 years ago