Simplifying the tax code

Jump to Last Post 1-6 of 6 discussions (32 posts)
  1. Freeway Flyer profile image75
    Freeway Flyerposted 13 years ago

I'm no economics expert, but I've noticed that people from all sides of the political spectrum don't like the American tax code. Republicans always want to cut taxes, and Democrats want to close loopholes.

It also seems to me that taxes on both businesses and individuals could be lowered if the "system" of various loopholes and tax breaks could be wiped away and replaced by some form of flat tax. Big corporations and wealthy individuals, after all, have an advantage over the rest of us. They can afford to spend money on accountants, lawyers, and lobbyists to help them "work the system."

Of course, simplifying the tax code might hurt the wealthy, big corporations, IRS bureaucrats, accountants, and tax lawyers. Also, politicians will no longer be able to use the tax code to push their agendas or to do favors for their campaign donors. I guess this is why neither party does much to bring some logic to the system, and to help the average consumers or small business owners who are they key to our financial future.

1. weholdthesetruths profile image60
      weholdthesetruthsposted 13 years agoin reply to this

The GOP is way too spineless to do anything that upsets the Democrats, and the Democrats would never do anything that might improve things.  Thus, our stalemate.   

Ideally, we repeal the 16the Amendment, and implement a RETAIL sales tax.   We can abolish the IRS, and save about a half to a trillion dollars a year, which is wasted on accounting, tax compliance, lawyers, and a massive enforcement/collections beaurocracy.    This would immediately make our country the hottest target in the world for investment, production, and wealth creation.   Viola!   Employment and a good economy.

Freeway Flyerposted 13 years agoin reply to this