jump to last post 1-8 of 8 discussions (14 posts)

Detroit TD..Official No TD...RIght or Wrong?

  1. Michael Willis profile image78
    Michael Willisposted 7 years ago

    WRONG! By the rule the receiver has to carry the ball to the ground or it is an incompletion. This is what the Official used for the over-ruling the TD. I understand that rule.

    BUT...look at replay...Johnson caught the ball in the Endzone, showed possession...then BODY made contact with ground (officially play over) and then...hand hit ground and lost ball!
    DUH...Officials blew the call and now are protecting themselves trying to "use the letter of the rule", but they are missing all parts of the play. The body contact with the ground means Play Over!
    This should have be ruled a Touchdown...Detroit Lions!!!

    Sorry Lions fans, you got ripped-off!

    1. LakeShow T profile image80
      LakeShow Tposted 7 years agoin reply to this

      Gosh, this one is tough. You pose a great argument Michael. I still don't know what to think personally. It's funny because you've got the Detroit coach saying it was the right call and Tommy Harris for the Bears saying he has no idea how the refs made the call they did. That's hilarious. I just don't know and I can't say definitively one way or the other what the right call should have been. It's a good thing it is week one between two teams that don't figure to be in the running for the playoffs. What a mess that would have been had it been a playoff game. Maybe Coach Schwartz wasn't mad about it because he knows it will just get the Lions a better draft pick next season..haha. Kudos to him at least for being classy about a heartbreaking call for his team and Lion fans.

      1. Michael Willis profile image78
        Michael Willisposted 7 years agoin reply to this

        I am not a fan of either team, so it really doesn't matter personally. But, this is a ruling that has been used right and wrong since it was implemented. I am against the way the rule is used. It Has to be changed!!!
        If the player's body had Not touched the ground Before the hand did and the ball lost...I would agree with the Ref. But, "the body touched first-Play over."

  2. bystuffonline profile image55
    bystuffonlineposted 7 years ago

    I don't understand the letter of the law.  He had two feet down in the endzone and still had possession.  At that point, I would have thought the play to be over and the touchdown good.

    1. Michael Willis profile image78
      Michael Willisposted 7 years agoin reply to this

      I agree! Ref blew the call. Now they are trying to validate the call since they are getting ripped over it.

  3. profile image64
    logic,commonsenseposted 7 years ago

    elevator, elevator, Detroit got the shaft!

  4. Ron Montgomery profile image60
    Ron Montgomeryposted 7 years ago

    I believe the ref was correct.  By rule, if a receiver goes to the ground through his own momentum, he has to maintain control completely through the play. The play is not ended simply because he hits the ground. The fact that it occurred in the end zone is irrelevant in this case.

    It may not be fair or logical, but it is the rule.

    1. Michael Willis profile image78
      Michael Willisposted 7 years agoin reply to this

      I still say it is mis-interpreted by a home field ref! Continuation was ended when he hit the ground=TD. It has been called that way through out the tenure of the rule. It was called differently today.  Johnson did what the rule called for.

    2. tony0724 profile image58
      tony0724posted 7 years agoin reply to this

      Ron this is going to be painful for me. But I agree with you !

      1. Mikeydoes profile image74
        Mikeydoesposted 7 years agoin reply to this

        Being a 100% Bears fan I have to disagree with you and Ron.

        Not only did he catch it, he hit the ground, held on to it , and as he was getting up he flipped the ball out of his hand(watch his fingers).. while on the ground. Never did he lose it.

        Worst call I have ever seen. Either that one or the 2 calls against both teams for hitting the quarterback a split second after it was released.

  5. Michael Willis profile image78
    Michael Willisposted 7 years ago

    This is a rule the NFL uses that I have disagreed with ever since is was put into place. Too many games or plays have been decided by a REF's decision, not whether a play was right or wrong.
    It is a rule the NFL needs to address and change so this type of bad call never happens again.

  6. prettydarkhorse profile image65
    prettydarkhorseposted 7 years ago

    Hmm, a real touchdown, he hit the ground with his body!

    This one is different, just to make you all smile ...

    http://sports.yahoo.com/soccer/blog/dir … sow-268819

  7. EYEAM4ANARCHY profile image81
    EYEAM4ANARCHYposted 7 years ago

    They got robbed. If holding the ball in one hand and shaking it toward the camera isn't an indication of control, I don't know what is.

    And the ball didn't get knocked out as he was going to the ground or when he hit the ground. He was down and was getting back up when the ball came out of his hand. The completion of the play doesn't extend all the way to him walking to the sidelines and getting a cup of Gatorade.

  8. Anna Marie Bowman profile image90
    Anna Marie Bowmanposted 7 years ago

    The Lions totally got robbed!!!  I was watching the game, and got pretty upset.  I WAS hoping Detroit would win...the whole underdog thing, and I hate the Bears...