jump to last post 1-1 of 1 discussions (5 posts)

What are your criteria for voting down hubs (that aren't obvious spam)

1. TaxNerd profile image85
    TaxNerdposted 5 years ago

I've been here a week now and I've watched with interest how my hubs are rated up or down. In general, they're doing well (I do put some effort into them, they're original content, etc). But I've always been curious to watch the volatility -- why some hubs my surge upwards for a couple of days and then suddenly start to get taken down a notch. I realize everyone has different standards, so I'm curious: What are YOURS? If you vote hubs up and down, what criteria do you use? Is it spelling and grammar? Subject matter? Design? The whole package? It's been suggested I put one of my hubs to the extreme makeover section, and I may do that. But before I do, I'd like to make some proactive edits. I'm extremely new to all this!

1. wilderness profile image97
      wildernessposted 5 years ago in reply to this

If you are referring to the hubscore, voting up or down or rating it MAY have an effect on that score.  No one knows for sure.

Hub score, just like the hubberscore on your avatar, varies day to day and often for no perceptible reason.  While it will very often drop early on, if it then comes up to around 60 or more and stays there don't worry about it.  You will only be hurt if it falls to 40.

1. TaxNerd profile image85
        TaxNerdposted 5 years ago in reply to this

Ah, interesting. I thought it was literally a tally of votes. You start at 50 and if 20 people vote it up and 5 vote it down, you're at 65. Etc. This is all fascinating.

1. wilderness profile image97
          wildernessposted 5 years ago in reply to this

It most definitely is not that - many things come into play, including a random variation.