jump to last post 1-7 of 7 discussions (9 posts)

Nursing Homes

1. tonyfischer profile image83
    tonyfischerposted 4 years ago

I work in the senior healthcare industry.  I was wondering what types of experiences people have had with nursing homes and how it effects your perceptions?

1. 60
      KailynLawposted 4 years ago in reply to this

My last time in a nursing home was a few years ago before my grandmother died.  It smelled like mold and chemicals.  I wasn't very happy about leaving my grandmother there but we couldn't afford anything better.

2. Shanna11 profile image90
    Shanna11posted 4 years ago

I visit a sweetheart of a woman in a very nice nursing home. I've been nothing but impressed with it. There's lots of activities, residents are allowed a small dog or cat and have their own private (small but still comfortable) room. It seems to be a very nice, low-key place, but it's also extremely hard to get into, from what my 'adopted grandparent' says.

3. Joy56 profile image60
    Joy56posted 4 years ago

I have worked in Nursing Homes all my life.....Was trained in England.... I have worked in good ones and very bad ones......   I dont like 12 hour shifts, and i think carers should earn more, and be treated better, and have more breaks.....

4. BobbiRant profile image80
    BobbiRantposted 4 years ago

It has made me angry when they simply take the elderly's money and offer not much in return.  I even wrote a book about how they can be changed, if enough people stand up.  Simply throwing money and rules at any industry does not work and we Are talking a billion dollar industry that mostly warehouses elderly people for the almighty dollar.  seen it first hand, daily for years.

1. Joy56 profile image60
      Joy56posted 4 years ago in reply to this

things are certainly not always as they should be, i would advice any families to look round before they put their relative in the nearest home..... They do vary a lot.......

5. BlossomSB profile image90