dashingscorpio profile image 86

Why does HP automatically delete duplicated content without establishing who published it first?


Awhile back I had an incident where someone copied one of my hubs and posted it on another site (without) my permission or giving me credit. HP sent me a notification informing me they were going to delete my hub if (I) did not make significant changes! I ended up sending the other site a request to remove my work from their site after HP told me where I could find it. Why should "the originator" of content have to jump through any hoops? It seems it would be so simple to compare the publication dates! Would you make Leonardo da Vinci repaint the Mona Lisa because someone else copied it?

 

sort by best latest

ChristinS profile image93

Christin Sander (ChristinS) says

You can help the HubPages community highlight top quality content by ranking this answer up or down.

4 years ago
 |  Comment
  • dashingscorpio profile image

    dashingscorpio 4 years ago

    No, In this instance my hub was completely copied and pasted on another website I had never heard of! They did remove it after I contacted them. A writer shouldn't have to periodically police the web to see if their work has bee posted elsewhere.


  • See all 2 comments
CraftytotheCore profile image87

CraftytotheCore says

You can help the HubPages community highlight top quality content by ranking this answer up or down.

4 years ago
 |  Comment
  • dashingscorpio profile image

    dashingscorpio 4 years ago

    Actually on your profile page if you move your mouse over your user name a drop down menu appears. Click on (my account) and it will list your hubs. You'll see the (original date) you published them and the last date you changed them. HP knows!


  • See all 2 comments