I noticed during the time I was working on a recent hub and before the hub was actually published, I went under "Display Options" and chose the topic and did not really think anything about it. Then I saved the unpublished hub to finish up later. I happened to notice later on a hub that is published, at the bottom of the hub where is shows next and previous hubs, my unpublished hub was showing up there, when it was not even published yet. I immediately went back in and edited the unpublished hub and removed the topic under Display Options, but left it under the normal choosing of the topic. It no longer showed up under the published hub. Just letting all know this happened to be aware for I did not want someone clicking on a hub that was not published at the time. I do not think it should allow an unpublished hub to be shown as if it were published until it is actually published under such topic.
I am so glad I read Reality Bytes' response. It is good to know that the view we see while we are logged in is not necessarily the same as when we are logged out. It is unsettling to think that our unpublished hubs can be viewed by others. Now I know to log out first when I want to see what the public sees.
Exactly Marlene! I did not realize such until I saw it myself. There is always something to learn. I wonder if just the link shows up and then when someone clicks on it they would not be able to see the hub as it would just say unpublished. I hope at least that is the case!
I believe they are viewable while logged in so you can establish which links are on what hub. You can alter the order of your group to synchronize them.
If the hubs are not published, the links cannot be seen by the reader.
Yes, I have moved them around a bit, as there is one topic I publish under a good bit here of late. Oh, I am so glad they cannot be seen when unpublished. It seems the unpublished hubs show not even show up under "next" or "previous" on other hubs that are published. The system should catch that they are not published.
all that publishing and unpublishing ..
you lost me ..! help ..
I can't find my way back..!
Hi Michael (cleaner3),
Yes, you most likely just write your poem straight away and publish and are done with it! That would alleviate the issue no doubt.
are you angry with me ..? you seem to have some kind of issue with me.. is there a reason for this,?
When you choose a group, your hub will show up in the links at the bottom, whether or not it has been published. I don't think people can actually see the hub though if it hasn't been published.
For this reason, I don't choose a group until the hub has actually been published. (Keep it in the orphan hubs group until you are ready to publish, and make sure there aren't any published hubs in the orphan hubs group.)
I wonder if there is a way to program it so that unpublished hubs get bypassed in the links so this doesn't happen.
Yes, it would be great if the program could bypass such and I am glad I noticed this. It seems it does not display such when one intially chooses a topic but does so under the display option. I just do not want someone seeing it on another published hub under "next"or "previous" until it is actually published. If someone sees it and clicks on it snd it says unpublished then once it is actually published they may not read thinking it is unpublished.
All hubs in a group can be seen below WHILE logged in. Log out and check to give you piece of mind.
Thank you so much, Reality Bytes! So really when we are working on a hub, it is truly best to not place it in a hub group until ready to publish. I did see the one I was working on to be published on another published hub! I am so glad I just happened to notice it showing up as if it were a published hub. I have since published it.
Thanks for the warning Faith. I am lately writing always under poetry and publishing right away but if sometimes I don't it's good to know.
by naresha5 years ago
Hi Members.... I am new to this Hubpages.com. After creating new account, I posted new article and it show that "This Hub is not published, only you can see it." - Need Help in this...
by Sally Gulbrandsen2 years ago
I know that our own views are counted on the stats page but I have not opened this hub to edit it today and yet I can see that I have had four visits!
by Sherry Hewins9 months ago
It seems Editbot is at work again. Had several little fixes, almost all in comments.
by Catherine Giordano2 years ago
I hope someone can help before I have to throw away a hub that took me 6 hours to produce. It is marked "unpublished for duplication" for no reason that I can discern. Every single word and sentence came from...
by Beth1003 years ago
When you publish a hub, it is normally listed under hub activity and a notification is sent via email to all interested parties. Now, when you unpublish that hub, finish re-editing and then republish it (keeping...
by Judy Filarecki3 years ago
I just finished editing a Hub and signed out. Then I called up the Hub only to get this terrible message that puts a very bad light on Hubbers as possible violators of "The Code."What a poor image this gives...
Copyright © 2017 HubPages Inc. and respective owners.
Other product and company names shown may be trademarks of their respective owners.
HubPages® is a registered Service Mark of HubPages, Inc.
HubPages and Hubbers (authors) may earn revenue on this page based on affiliate relationships and advertisements with partners including Amazon, Google, and others.