jump to last post 1-3 of 3 discussions (8 posts)

I Will Answer Your Grammar/Punctuation Question

1. profile image0
    LisaKeatingposted 3 years ago

I was inspired by WryLilt's offer to help everyone with improving their titles. I would be glad to do the same for grammar and punctuation questions. As a retired English teacher, I have the time and enjoy helping people who really want to learn. Just tag me if you have a question.

2. Greekgeek profile image94
    Greekgeekposted 3 years ago

Lisa, thanks very much for this offer!

Please help me shake the rust off a four-letter word: that.

1a) When do we start a dependent clause with that, and when do we use which?

I read a book which had been written five hundred years ago.
    I read a book that had been written five hundred years ago.

I know there's a rule for this, but I've forgotten it.

1b) Is it ever permissible to drop "that" after a verb of thinking/saying/sensing?

She realized she had left the kettle on.
    She realized that she had left the kettle on.

1. janshares profile image97
      jansharesposted 3 years agoin reply to this

Great question, Greekgeek. I think I might use "that" too much. I once had a veteran hubber tell me to take some out of my hub when I was starting out. To my surprise, it did read much smoother. I'd appreciate learning the rule, too.

3. profile image0
    LisaKeatingposted 3 years ago

Greekgeek,
    Generally, you use "which" before a non-essential phrase and "that" in front of an essential phrase. In your example, I would use "that" because the reader needs to know the specific book you are referring to.

I read a book that had been written five hundred years ago.

The easiest way to figure it out is to look at the noun you are referring to. In this case it is "book." Since book is vague and not specific, the reader needs the rest of the sentence to understand your meaning.