When I click on the H share tab, where does it go? Is it the same as the blue thumbs up tab? I'm not sure what these mean.
The H+ button shares a hub with all your followers. So, it brings more traffic to that hub.
Let us say that you write a Hub and a reader presses the "H" button. What it does is tell all of the people who follow you that you have written a new Hub and here it is. It gets to them faster.
The blue buttons with the "thumbs up" or "thumbs down" tell you, and others, that they liked (thumbs up), or did not like (thumbs down), a certain Hub. The "thumbs down" is rarely used, probably by outside traffic.
It goes on the HP feed to all of your followers. It is not the same as the blue thumbs up, which is simply a rating for the hub.
It goes to your followers, not the people you follow. Only followers want to hear from you about what Hubs you recommend to them.
Thanks, I just corrected it. I had it correct first, then I changed it! Yes, it goes to our followers.
The H means that you are sharing a hub with your followers. Other than that, it means nothing, gains nothing, earns nothing.
If you are a new hubber, with few followers, it lets your hub out and exposes it to readers that would not normally see it. They might read it, share it with their followers or on FB, twitter, or Pinterest.
It is a good thing.
It means a lot, gains a lot, and might earn a lot too.
I read that it's bad etiquette to share your own hubs? Is that correct?
Your followers already get notice of every Hub you publish: on their feed pages and by email from HP.
It gets shared on the feed when we publish it, and also whenever we make a comment. At times it may be fine to share your already published hub if you have updates that you think your followers may want to know about. But for the most part, yes, it's kind of tacky to see it shared over and over again by the author.
If you published a hub on Christmas a year ago, and have 100 new followers since then, I think sharing that hub would be fine. HP has a standard message "sharing your own hub is not recommended" because if too many people do this, and do it for every single hub, it can get annoying.
Some newbies come on here and share every hub they read. That is annoying too.
I'd like to promote my articles that were on Squidoo and now here when I've updated them. (Sensibly - not one after the other). So they're not new and won't show in my followers' feeds. Is that acceptable?
Do you mean that you want to promote them on a social site? Or are you talking about somewhere else?
You are allowed to do that, so it's really a question of whether or not you think that would annoy your followers. But, under present circumstances, what if every ex-Squidoo person shared all of their transferred articles with their followers? The feed pages would be so crammed that no one would even notice your Hub.
Your followers want to see what new Hubs you are publishing, which is one of the reasons they follow you and they are alerted by email from HP and a notice on their feed pages. But, that's at a much more normal pace.
Brit: The share tab is to share hubs of others. Our followers will see our new hubs in their newsfeed. You can use the Facebook, Google Plus, Pinterest and Twitter button for your hubs. I couldn't find a rule set in stone, but it is considered bad etiquette and possibly being overly promotional when it comes to our own hubs.
I use the H share tab to share any hub, whether my own or somebody else's, with my HP followers.
Thank you, Linda
I always share by updated hubs on social media but as I've seen people sharing their own to the feed I wondered if it was acceptable. Thanks for your reply.
This is all I could find Number 8 at http://hubpages.com/faq/
OK I get it. I tried to follow the link and of course couldn't. I was hoping when I did it that the articles were getting promoted somewhere. So all the ones I gave a H share to were actually telling people I think this is a good article, go check it out for yourself. I like that.
I didn't think you could do it for your own articles. It's sort of giving your own work a thumbs up and I didn't think that would be cool.
by WoodsmensPost 11 years ago
I didn't think this was allowed and it is rather annoying spamming a link to one article every couple hours.
by Mark Shulkosky 9 years ago
How often do you share Hubs you read with your followers?If I read a quality Hub, well written, enjoyable or informative, I usually share it with my followers. I do not share every Hub I read. How often do you share Hubs with your followers? Do you read the Hubs that are shared...
by Raymond D Choiniere 11 years ago
Hey Hubpages Staff,I've been a member for 15 months now and have been told countless times that "Share with Followers" is NOT to be used by the author of a hub.Then why is it that the FEED is loaded with Hubbers promoting their own work?
by Giselle Maine 10 years ago
While I understand that hubbers might occasionally want to share some of their own hubs with their followers, it can be frustrating to see multiple 'old' hubs shared by their owner when looking at the 'feed'. I'd like to suggest that HubPages limits the ability to do this to a certain number...
by Janis Leslie Evans 7 years ago
If we pump up our use of social media, i.e., marketing our articles more, will it help increase our traffic much? Or won't it make much difference because we are more dependent upon organic traffic? Something tells me we might have to wait out this drought. What say you?
by Dee42 10 years ago
I've noticed something kinda weird, after I write something, I put it on Facebook, because I've worked hard on it, and letting everyone I know that I have written a new hub. Do they or even even disliked it or leave encouraging words? Nope...nothing....zip, zero. I'm not sure if they know...
Copyright © 2022 Maven Media Brands, LLC and respective content providers on this website. HubPages® is a registered trademark of Maven Coalition, Inc. Other product and company names shown may be trademarks of their respective owners. Maven Media Brands, LLC and respective content providers to this website may receive compensation for some links to products and services on this website.
|HubPages Device ID||This is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.|
|Login||This is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.|
|HubPages Traffic Pixel||This is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.|
|Remarketing Pixels||We may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.|
|Conversion Tracking Pixels||We may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.|