Editing/Proofing idea

Jump to Last Post 1-10 of 10 discussions (20 posts)
  1. Jule Romans profile image95
    Jule Romansposted 14 years ago

I was just starting to go hub hopping today when I had a thought. What if there was a "hopper" for those of us who are interested in feedback on the quality of writing in our hubs?

We could add our hubs to that list, and people could rate or comment on errors they find, or make suggestions about grammar and style. I think it would need to be limited to these aspects, because some people might be expecting detailed responses to stories and such, if that were not made clear.

I know there are several very experienced online writers and editors here. They all have limited time. If they could hop for a few minutes and either highlight or mention errors, it  could continue to increase our quality of writing.

I admit, I have an ulterior motive. I am an English teacher. Sometimes I would like to point out an error to an author, but I am  not sure that it would be welcome. This way, willing authors could easily be identified. I am also a new writer on HP, so I am hungry for feedback all the time. This  feature would help me make sure my usage and grammar are correct.

We get "points" for hopping, so that would be a reward for those who volunteer their time to proofread.

I suppose another option would be for an author to check a box  that indicates they are interested in feedback on their writing, and add that option to the hub hopper. I think that might open up some unnecessary defensiveness if people didn't know what they were in for.  I could see  how a group of hubs explaining the feature might mitigate that problem, though.

1. LarasMama profile image60
      LarasMamaposted 14 years agoin reply to this

Great idea! I have previously thought we should have something like this as well.