jump to last post 1-3 of 3 discussions (9 posts)

Facebook identifying links as SPAM (Facebook issue)

  1. molometer profile image85
    molometerposted 5 years ago

    The suspect link http://fbexternal-a.akamaihd.net/safe_image.php

    I just tried to post to Facebook using the Facebook share button on the hub below.

    http://molometer.hubpages.com/_r6mvzzzh … -Christmas

    Somewhere along the line the above was converted to 


    It was blocked and flagged as coming from a known spammer?

    This is the first time I have seen this. Has anyone else seen this and are the hubpages team aware of this problem.

    1. Matthew Meyer profile image76
      Matthew Meyerposted 5 years agoin reply to this


      Sorry to hear about the problems you are experiencing posting to Facebook.

      The link http://fbexternal-a.akamaihd.net/safe_image.php
      is Facebook's CDN.  You can read more about Akamai here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Akamai_Technologies

      It appears Facebook may have implemented additional malware detection and spamming precautions recently and they may not be working properly.

      From elsewhere on the internet and not related to HubPages content:
      "Facebook is not letting us post any new content to our Facebook page & has removed posts going back to Friday. Not sure what is going on.

      Every link we try to post (ours or others) is rejected with the following message:

      'The content you're trying to share includes a link that's been blocked for being spammy or unsafe.'

      I was able to post the link to your Hub on Facebook without any issues.

      My guess is there might be something on the FB side that looks at the number of post you have made that uses the same URL "http://molometer.hubpages.com/" for example and automarks as SPAM if a certain number have occurred from the same account.

      We will keep an eye out and thanks for bringing this to our attention.

      1. molometer profile image85
        molometerposted 5 years agoin reply to this

        Hi Matthew,
        I would understand if I posted that often to Facebook but I don't. At most maybe 10 posts per week. Sometimes less, sometimes none. I have noticed that this issue also, only lasted for a day or two. Maybe these rogue sites that steal the whole of our content from hubpages, could they be causing this issue?
        I know it is an ongoing battle to police these rogue sites, but I would have thought Google would have the power and resources, to quickly identify these duplicate content sites? Thanks for the above links.

      2. molometer profile image85
        molometerposted 5 years agoin reply to this

        Just read the Akamai article. Thanks for pointing it out.
        I see where you are coming from, but if this is just a mirror site, I don't see how it would be misidentified as spam. Unless as you suggest it was an error on FB part misidentifying the mirror site. It didn't last long but the point is if we get 'identified' as a spammer, it could have repercussions elsewhere.
        Thanks again.

  2. Aficionada profile image89
    Aficionadaposted 5 years ago

    In view of the other current or recent problems (odd traffic spikes, spam comment flood), I wonder if this (FB share) problem is part of a multi-pronged attack on HP? Could all be randomly coincidental, of course.

    1. molometer profile image85
      molometerposted 5 years agoin reply to this

      I have had quite a few anomalies in the last few weeks. It can begin to feel like a coordinated effort.

    2. jacharless profile image80
      jacharlessposted 5 years agoin reply to this


      The FB open graph (og:) API is peppered with security issues, on an already lax cross-domain sharing system. I do not see how this is a HubPages issue, per say, as they do not control FB technology only integrate it for user benefit.


  3. paradigmsearch profile image94
    paradigmsearchposted 5 years ago

    This whole internet spam thing just keeps getting worse year after year. If Homeland Security were to classify it as a form of cyber-attack and deal with it accordingly, I'd be fine with that.

    1. molometer profile image85
      molometerposted 5 years agoin reply to this

      I'm with you on that one. Google knows all about these issues and seem a little slow in correcting them. Like the whole hubpages site getting cloned a few weeks ago? How can they not see it as duplicate content, and not know the original URL?