jump to last post 1-5 of 5 discussions (5 posts)

What is your take on schools doing the pledge of allegiance? Yes or no?

1. profile image49
    FunniLouieposted 4 years ago

What is your take on schools doing the pledge of allegiance? Yes or no?

2. Rochelle Frank profile image94
    Rochelle Frankposted 4 years ago

I have mixed feelings about it, though I grew up reciting it every single school day. As a sub teacher, I did whatever was customary in each classroom. The pledge was commonly recited in almost all classrooms.
    Whenever I got a chance-- and especially in long term assignments-- I always did a lesson that helped students understand what the words mean.
    After all, if you are required to promise something ("pledge"), and you don't know what you are promising, it doesn't seem quite right.
    Words like "pledge", "allegiance", "republic", "indivisible", and others  are total mysteries to most kids.
    I consider myself to be a patriotic American, and I think everyone should be familiar with the words and the meaning of the words.
    I know you asked for a yes or no; this sounds like a maybe. 
    I do know that starting the school day with some sort of communal, familiar and expected 'ritual' does seem to set the tone for the day. It signals that, as a group, we are officially getting started with the business at hand.

3. Paul Kuehn profile image95
    Paul Kuehnposted 4 years ago

When I was a student in the 50s, I remember saying the pledge of allegiance before classes started.  In Thailand, all students have a mandatory morning assembly outside and there is a colors ceremony.  While the Thai flag is being raised, everyone stands at attention and sings the Thai national anthem.  Yes, kids should be saying the pledge of allegiance and the Star Spangled Banner should be played more often and not only at sporting events.

4. Borsia profile image46
    Borsiaposted 4 years ago