Is a Blue Moon, such as the one tonight, ever really blue in color, or does it m

Jump to Last Post 1-9 of 9 discussions (21 posts)
  1. Faith Reaper profile image83
    Faith Reaperposted 8 years ago

Is a Blue Moon, such as the one tonight, ever really blue in color, or does it mean it is rare?

Tonight there is going to be  a special Blue Moon.  I do not believe I've ever seen one, but wonder if it is called a Blue Moon because it is a rare happening, being there are two full months this month.  Has anyone ever seen a Blue Moon, and is it blue and what is the real reason why they are calling it a Blue Moon?  Thank you for answering.

https://usercontent1.hubstatic.com/12561512_f260.jpg

2. fpherj48 profile image59
    fpherj48posted 8 years ago

I'm not an expert in Astronomy, Faith, But I remember the "Blue Moon" event being explained to me.  I'll try to tell you without confusion!

In one year, there are FOUR Seasons consisting of 3 months each.....Thus each astronomical "season" has  THREE FULL MOONS...one for each month.

Every now and then (I do not know the time spans!) there is a 2nd moon in a particular month .....OR....said another way.....a 4th moon in the season.
    That 2nd FULL moon of that particular month is the "BLUE MOON.".....
    Because it is RARE.....we get that expression about "once in a blue moon.".......

That full moon is blue in color only sometimes.....not always.   The blue is not the moon...it's particles in the atmosphere that cause the moon to appear blue......

I just looked outside, but it's not quite dark enough for the full moon to show right now......I do want to see it and make a wish!

The next Blue moon is suppose to be Saturday May 21st. 2016.  And trust me Faith......It will be a BLUE MOON before I try to explain this again!!    Whew!!     Did I confuse you?   I sure confused myself!!

Faith Reaperposted 8 years agoin reply to this