jump to last post 1-6 of 6 discussions (11 posts)

What is the worst or most impractical piece of advice your parents ever gave you

1. bethperry profile image91
    bethperryposted 4 years ago

What is the worst or most impractical piece of advice your parents ever gave you?

No one is perfect in their thinking, not even our parents. What is the worst or most impractical piece of advice your parents ever gave you?

2. TheYoungDad profile image78
    TheYoungDadposted 4 years ago

The worst advice my dad gave me was that I should be a lawyer because I like reading and because I have a retentive memory. Im not a lawyer, but this advice and his expectations was part of a rift between me and him growing up, along with the teenage drama and all that.

bethperryposted 4 years agoin reply to this

Sorry to hear it, TheYoungDad. Not everyone has the inclination to pursue law. And, in my opinion, this is a darned good thing!

3. pinto2011 profile image76
    pinto2011posted 4 years ago

I have never felt in my life that my parents have ever given me any worst or impractical piece of advice. May be at that point of time, I felt so, but as the time goes by, I felt that they were right with their years of experience and care for me.

pinto2011, you're a lucky individual!

4. RNMSN profile image91
    RNMSNposted 4 years ago

for me, the most impractical piece of advice involved money.....specifically that the job I had Must make the Most money...without taking into account how it affected my ellbeing...to me, the money should be secondary and the joy, the fulfillment of the job should alway be uppermost...

RNMSN, I agree with you, and money definitely doesn't buy happiness.

5. peachpurple profile image84
    peachpurpleposted 4 years ago

Go to work and earn money. No need to go further study, waste of time and money. And that is how i end up here....

That sucks, peachpurple sad

6. profile image0
    Ghost32posted 4 years ago

Easy one.