What proof do you have that Nairn's Gluten Free Oatcakes are not gluten free

  1. profile image52
    marg22posted 7 years ago

    What proof do you have that Nairn's Gluten Free Oatcakes are not gluten free

    I always remember being given the information when diagnosed with coeliac's disease that oats themselves do not contain gluten but are contaminated through shared milling facilities. Nairn's state that oats used in their gluten free range are milled at a dedicated mill and produced in a dedicated bakery.

  2. infonolan profile image78
    infonolanposted 7 years ago

    Hi marg22 and thank you for your question.

    As with all grains (corn, rice, millet, sorghum, wheat, rye, barley), a prolamin is present in oats.

    Firstly (in terms of prolamins), the 'avenins' present in oats occupy a much smaller percentage of the respective grain than that of the 'gliadins' present in wheat; 'secalins' present in rye and 'hordeins' present in barley (the gluten-containing cereals known to be harmful to individuals with celiac/coeliac disease).

    Secondly (according to most recent statistic data), numerous studies conducted have shown that at least 1 in 7 individuals with coeliac disease experience significant damage to the gastrointestinal tract (in a similar manner to that of wheat, rye and barley) following the consumption of pure (uncontaminated) oats.

    Thirdly, oats (or derivative thereof) are fully excluded from any product labelled 'gluten free' if and when sold in Australia and New Zealand (as identified in Standard 1.2.8 - FSANZ). For a product to marked 'gluten free' within Australia or New Zealand, it must contain:

    -  no detectable gluten
    -  no
      --- oats
      --- cereals containing gluten that have been malted

    Therefore, under the perspective of the Australian/New Zealand food law (which was the perspective of the relevant hub composed by myself), Nairn's oats contain gluten and cannot be marketed as 'gluten free'. Coeliac Societies in this part of the world advise coeliacs against the consumption of any products containing oats (regardless of their purity).


This website uses cookies

As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

Show Details
HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)