jump to last post 1-5 of 5 discussions (10 posts)

What works as quick motivation?

1. CroftRoan profile image83
    CroftRoanposted 5 years ago

What works as quick motivation?

I can't seem to bring myself to write today and I wanted to get a lot done with Mageling, Grace Under Fire, and Paragon this weekend. Any suggestions?

2. Laura Schneider profile image91
    Laura Schneiderposted 5 years ago

Take a walk/run around the block (or your equivalent thereof). Or, swing for a few minutes at the local park. Drink a cup of coffee or tea. Write about something else for awhile. Or, set a timer for 5 minutes and tell yourself that, like a bad pill, you'll for sure just sit down and write for 5 minutes--usually when I do this the timer goes off and I keep right on writing. Don't believe in "writer's block" whatever you do--it doesn't exist and never did. Just tell yourself that over and over and soon enough you'll believe it. I'm a professional fulltime technical writer, and I write all day long every day 40++ hours a week and then write articles for fun when I'm not working. (I do more than just write, don't get me wrong). I wrote an article on getting motivated to write--maybe that will help you. There's a video in it from another writer about motivation, too. http://lauraschneider.hubpages.com/hub/ … -to-Write. Hope this helps!

CroftRoanposted 5 years agoin reply to this

I'm going to take a look at your article right now. Thanks!

3. UndercoverAgent19 profile image90
    UndercoverAgent19posted 5 years ago