jump to last post 1-5 of 5 discussions (10 posts)

What is Catharsis?

1. Rafiq23 profile image88
    Rafiq23posted 3 years ago

What is Catharsis?

Please explain the meaning of Catharsis.

2. Tusitala Tom profile image61
    Tusitala Tomposted 3 years ago

The way I interpret the word, without looking it up in the dictionary, is 'release from inner trauma,'  'a change in belief that brings a lasting mental relief.  Or to use more poetic language, 'a healing of the heart.'

Rafiq23posted 3 years agoin reply to this

Excellent answer, Tom. Do you know the origin of the word catharsis?

2. gposchman profile image83
      gposchmanposted 3 years agoin reply to this

My old high school Latin book has katharos based on a greek word meaning purge or cleanse.

3. profile image0
    Ghaelachposted 3 years ago

At the age of 66 I find that I am still learning, and this is a new word to me.
    As has been mention in one of the comments the word comes from the old Greek language and simply means purification or cleansing. But it would be much easier for you to go to Wikipedia and get the whole answer discribed in full.

Thanks for your answer, Ghaelach!

4. satomko profile image94
    satomkoposted 3 years ago

Catharsis is a Greek word that classically means purification.  It is something of a medical term, but Aristotle used it in Poetics when explaining the effects of a tragedy, which creates a sense if pity and terror in the audience as they watch the fall of a great man.

Well explained, Satomko. Thanks for your answer.

5. Marie Flint profile image88
    Marie Flintposted 3 years ago

Probably the best way to understand the meaning of catharsis is to experience it.