Online Writing Career

Jump to Last Post 1-4 of 4 discussions (17 posts)
  1. lillm profile image61
    lillmposted 13 years ago

Hello!

I'm new to Hubpages and to writing online in general. I just started a blog and am considering writing for some other sites. I'm really enjoying it so far, and I learn new things everyday.

I have a few questions for those who write online as a full-time career or at least make a significant portion of their income from writing online: How many total hours do you spend each week on your writing, and what's the breakdown of hours you spend each week on blogs, writing sites, etc.? How many different writing sites do you write for?

Any information or advice would be appreciated by this newbie!

Thanks!

1. thisisoli profile image70
      thisisoliposted 13 years agoin reply to this

It's not really howmuch you put in per day, but how much you put in total. It takes quite a long time to get a passive income up to a level that will keep you fed.

1. David 470 profile image81
        David 470posted 13 years agoin reply to this

Well said

2. lillm profile image61
        lillmposted 13 years agoin reply to this

Thanks for your response! I'm beginning to understand that this is a long-term process. I'm ready for the challenge though! I love writing and learning, so hopefully it will pay off for me down the road.

1. thisisoli profile image70
          thisisoliposted 13 years agoin reply to this

It should pay off, just do your research, find out how things work and you will be fine smile

2. David 470 profile image81

Its all about how much effort you put in the long haul. For example 20 hours a week writing may not sound like full time work, but considering EVERYTIME you write its new. Unlike getting paid for doing something over and over again.

I would say write 2 hubs daily (most of the time) and send backlinks, ping etc...