jump to last post 1-6 of 6 discussions (6 posts)

Do you believe that there are books which should be banned from the shelves of p

1. K. Burns Darling profile image81
    K. Burns Darlingposted 6 years ago

Do you believe that there are books which should be banned from the shelves of public libraries?

Saturday the 24th of September through October 1st is the American Library Association sponsored Banned Book Week, a week devoted to highlighting books and their authors, both in the United States and internationally which have been targeted for either banning or censorship.

2. mortimerjackson profile image57
    mortimerjacksonposted 6 years ago

Yes. Absolutely. I am a self-published author, and I would love it for a community to ban together and ban my books, speak out against them in public to their friends, and tell them never to read any of my books ever in their life. Knowing human nature, they will most likely be willing to listen.

3. Nefarious_Misery profile image67
    Nefarious_Miseryposted 6 years ago

No, I believe that any and all books should be accessable. It is not up to you, or a comittee to decide what I should or should not read.

4. Molly Kathleen profile image61
    Molly Kathleenposted 6 years ago

Sometimes the best way to become an open-minded, intelligent, compassionate, and overall well-rounded person is to read about things that aren't always..."rainbows & sunshine"....for this reason, this literature is also considered "inappropriate" etc, etc. Just because it makes you uncomfortable/nervous/excited etc. it should never be banned! All great literature is meant to invoke some type of emotion...so bring it ALL on!!!

5. Jonesy0311 profile image61
    Jonesy0311posted 6 years ago