jump to last post 1-10 of 10 discussions (14 posts)

Is faith, however you define it, a virtue?

1. Steve Orion profile image77
    Steve Orionposted 4 years ago

Is faith, however you define it, a virtue?

Whether this applies to God, moral judgements, or other aspects of your life, if faith a good thing to have?

2. profile image0
    Sooner28posted 4 years ago

It's one of the highest vices a human being can have.

3. Lady Guinevere profile image60
    Lady Guinevereposted 4 years ago

Jesus talked about FAITH lots in that Bible and when I studied what he was saying it was having FAITH in your self.  If you have no faith in yourself then you will not be able to move those mountains. It doesn't matter weather they be goals for sports, writing, living, buying a house or getting anything that you would need in life.  You must have faith in yourself.

Steve Orionposted 4 years agoin reply to this

Don't you mean confidence, though? I have confidence when I begin a presentation for school, given I've studied hours, checked sources, and practiced. If I did none of those things, yet feel the same, isn't that faith?

2. Lady Guinevere profile image60
      Lady Guinevereposted 4 years agoin reply to this

In my Thesaurus other words for FAITH are:  assurance, belief, certitude, confidence reliance and trust.

4. manatita44 profile image84
    manatita44posted 4 years ago

Most certainly.
    Perhaps its opposite is paranoia. Seen in a Higher perspective, it is impossible to find the divine without it. Seen in everyday situation, if we did not have it, we would hesitate when we cross the road, we will mistrust our friends, and turn up to interviews believing that the job is already lost.

Our whole lives will be on edge stressing out for the salary or child that may never come, and our doubts will be too strong, thus overpowering our faith in the system or organisation. It is impossible to live without faith. See how the atheist feels about his son, daughter or motorcar.