jump to last post 1-6 of 6 discussions (12 posts)

Wy do womens shirts button left?

1. qwark profile image58
    qwarkposted 7 years ago

Who thought of this and why?
    Is there a purpose for it?
    What might the purpose be?

2. Reality Bytes profile image84
    Reality Bytesposted 7 years ago

Seperating the clothes after laundry?

3. relache profile image90
    relacheposted 7 years ago

When I studied costume in college, this was one of those thongs that got explained on day one.

Historically, women's fashion was much more complicated up until modern times and they frequently had dressers to assist them.  Since the majority of humans are right-handed, button sides developed to play to that.  Men, who tended to dress themselves have garments that button on the right.  Women, who tended to be dressed by some standing in front of them, facing them, have garments that button on the left...which facilitates a right-handed person doing the dressing.

1. Ivorwen profile image72
      Ivorwenposted 7 years agoin reply to this

This is what I learned too.

2. Shadesbreath profile image84
      Shadesbreathposted 7 years agoin reply to this

THAT is freaking cool.  I love tidbits like this.  Thanks for sharing!

1. John Holden profile image60
        John Holdenposted 7 years agoin reply to this

If you like that then how about the reason for most spiral staircases going in a clockwise direction?

Most people are right handed and most attackers will be trying to go up the staircase which means that their sword arm will be tightly hampered by the centre pole allowing only half hearted swipes at ankles.
        The defender on the other hand will have his sword arm in plenty of free space enabling him to aim forceful blows to the opponents head.

1. Shadesbreath profile image84
          Shadesbreathposted 7 years agoin reply to this