My worst fears in a hotel room--confirmed!

Jump to Last Post 1-11 of 11 discussions (20 posts)
  1. Proud Mom profile image61
    Proud Momposted 15 years ago

I just came across this article on yahoo! travel.  Being someone who has always been rather uptight about staying in hotel rooms, the title caught my eye, "Confessions of a Hotel Housekeeper".  She goes on to talk about how well (or not) she actually cleaned the rooms.  Take a peek.  I'm interested to know if you are as disturbed as I was.

http://travel.yahoo.com/p-interests-25303242

2. Lissie profile image76
    Lissieposted 15 years ago

Hmm sounds pretty reasonable to me - do you vacuum your own home every day or clean the sink -  I certainly don't! I worked as a housemaid long time ago and I can assure you it is a fantastic way to get fit and work crap hours! IMHO people with kids should be charged an extra cleaning fee! Business men were the best - the basically walk in walk out - rarely even use a coffee cup.

I expect the place to be clean - but if a toilet is already clean - what does it matter whether its scrubbed or not ? I insist on clean sheets and check before I accept a room - but that's at cheaper places overseas

3. SweetiePie profile image80
    SweetiePieposted 15 years ago

My sister used to be a housekeeper at a resort up in the mountains and cleaning other peoples' rooms was an interesting experience for her.  Their boss would give them a time frame to clean each room on a daily basis and insisted only certain things be done, so my sister could not even do extra cleaning if she wanted too.  Honestly I can sympathize with certain things the housekeeper said in the article about the man who watched her clean the room and told her that was building character.  How demeaning can some people be?