jump to last post 1-2 of 2 discussions (9 posts)

Make sure to share Hubs after they have passed QAP

  1. Nell Rose profile image91
    Nell Roseposted 2 years ago

    I just published my latest and when I shared it with twitter it was fine, but when I copied and pasted the url to facebook it brought something up completely different! But only the 'front page' so to speak. when it was clicked on my hub came up.

    But being completely puzzled I copied the false page writing and to my surprise found it was someone else's hub, similar interest! not sure if it will sort itself out? thanks.
    My latest was an Outlander hub.

    1. bravewarrior profile image95
      bravewarriorposted 2 years agoin reply to this

      Did you go back into after you hit Publish and before you shared the URL on FB?

      Unless you hit the FB button, as you do Twitter, you'll have to close it, reopen, then copy the URL. Otherwise, the URL will show /done at the end (or whatever it says when you first hit Publish).

      1. Nell Rose profile image91
        Nell Roseposted 2 years agoin reply to this

        Not sure, it was someone elses hub that appeared when I clicked mine. imagine I am on my hub, to the left is the twitter and facebook links. I clicked on the facebook one, it should have shown mine, but it showed someone elses.

    2. Matthew Meyer profile image74
      Matthew Meyerposted 2 years agoin reply to this

      This usually occurs when a Hub is shared while it is pending evaluation by the QAP.

      You can fix it after it is published, but can avoid the issue if you wait until a Hub has passed the QAP and is published before you share it.
      The FAQ talks about this as well.
      http://hubpages.com/faq/#social-media-promotion

      From the FAQ


          Be aware that Facebook and other sites cache the state of a URL when it is first shared. You should share a Hub on social media (Facebook, Pinterest, Twitter, etc.) or via email only once it has been evaluated by the site QAP and featured. If you share a URL while it is pending evaluation then sites like Facebook cannot view the Hub and will cache the state of the Hub when it was shared. You can see the status of all of your Hubs in My Account.
          If you would like to check or fix the way a link shows on Facebook you can use the Facebook debugger tool.
      https://developers.facebook.com/tools/debug/

      1. Nell Rose profile image91
        Nell Roseposted 2 years agoin reply to this

        Oh duh, how dumb am I? lol! Thanks Matthew! I should have realised. I usually only share a couple of days later!

      2. Phyllis Doyle profile image91
        Phyllis Doyleposted 2 years agoin reply to this

        This is a very good thing to remember. Thanks, Matthew.

  2. Jodah profile image88
    Jodahposted 2 years ago

    That happened to me as well Nell. Last night I copied the url of two of my hubs to share on FB and Google+ and someone elses hub showed up.....luckily I checked it and didn't hit post. Did them again and it was ok, with my own hubs showing up.

    1. Nell Rose profile image91
      Nell Roseposted 2 years agoin reply to this

      lol! seems we are both losing it Jodah! I never did that before! smile

      1. Phyllis Doyle profile image91
        Phyllis Doyleposted 2 years agoin reply to this

        That has never happened to me. But, then I usually forget to share till long after the hub is featured. Glad Matthew explained why it happens.

 
working