jump to last post 1-4 of 4 discussions (20 posts)

I am Confused

  1. Titia profile image91
    Titiaposted 7 months ago

    I thought that editing a hub could be done behind the screens and that edits only got visible when you hit the 'done editing' button. I'm in the process of editing and reconstructing a lot of my hubs to make them more compliant to the rules.

    This morning I got a HP message saying that one of my hubs (the one that I'm working on) got unfeatured and when I looked at that hub, all changes I made yesterday were visible in the public view, despite the fact that I hadn't hit the 'done editing' button yet. This hub looks like a mess now because I'm not done yet.

    Is this normal that changes are visible before you hit the 'done editing' button?

    1. sallybea profile image99
      sallybeaposted 7 months ago in reply to this

      This is something which concerns me too.  I can spend a long time editing but always try to do it in one stint because I am concerned that my hub can be viewed and seen as I am doing them.  I would like an opportunity to have it in edit mode until I decide when it should go back online without losing the views I have already acquired.  I may not understand how the process works though so hope someone will enlighten me.

    2. Marisa Wright profile image94
      Marisa Wrightposted 7 months ago in reply to this

      I'm not sure I understand.   If you leave a Hub without hitting the "Done Editing" button, then your edits are not saved.

      1. Titia profile image91
        Titiaposted 7 months ago in reply to this

        No, like Beth says, that's not always the case. Could be my mistake, but I always thought changes were saved in edit mode and only become final when you hit the 'done editing' button and that htting that button was a sign for the mods to take a look.

  2. Beth Eaglescliffe profile image91
    Beth Eaglescliffeposted 7 months ago

    No, that's not always the case. Occasionally, my computer has crashed when I've been mid-edit and I've had to reboot. All my edits have been automatically saved and appear visible to the public. I think there must be auto-save every few minutes.

  3. LongTimeMother profile image95
    LongTimeMotherposted 7 months ago

    The simple solution is to 'unpublish' while you are editing. Then publish again when you finish.

    1. sallybea profile image99
      sallybeaposted 7 months ago in reply to this

      If you unpublish the hub do you lose the views you had on it previously and does the count (views) start again from the beginning?  This is the only reason why I have not done that.  I don't want a hub to be on view if I have not completed the editing process.

      1. Sherry Hewins profile image94
        Sherry Hewinsposted 7 months ago in reply to this

        No, you don't lose your views by unpublishing.

        1. sallybea profile image99
          sallybeaposted 7 months ago in reply to this

          Thank Sherry, that is reassuring as sometimes my edits have included me redoing all my images for a fresh look and that takes time.

          1. Sherry Hewins profile image94
            Sherry Hewinsposted 7 months ago in reply to this

            I have unpublished quite a few hubs, often when I am considering deleting them. Sometimes I change my mind, and when I republish they pick right up where they left off.

            1. sallybea profile image99
              sallybeaposted 7 months ago in reply to this

              I am so pleased I asked the question then as the requests to do edits have been coming thick and fast and it is sometimes hard for me to do it all in one sitting.

          2. Marisa Wright profile image94
            Marisa Wrightposted 7 months ago in reply to this

            The only problem with unpublishing - and it's a big one - is that if you leave the Hub unpublished for more than a few days, Google will decide it's gone and will delete all its reputation and history.  It will start at the bottom of the search engine rankings again.

            1. sallybea profile image99
              sallybeaposted 7 months ago in reply to this

              Thanks, Marisa, that is a good to know.

            2. Titia profile image91
              Titiaposted 7 months ago in reply to this

              Yes, so I won't do that, not with this hub and others that are featured.

            3. sallybea profile image99
              sallybeaposted 7 months ago in reply to this

              Marisa Wright, sorry just another question?  How do the Editors get around this when they are working on hubs which are locked.  With so many requests for us to edit hubs, they can't really expect everyone to edit them live, or can they?

              1. Marisa Wright profile image94
                Marisa Wrightposted 7 months ago in reply to this

                In my experience, if an editor sends you an email saying your Hub is eligible to be moved to a niche site, then only MINOR edits are needed.  Therefore editing live shouldn't be a problem.

                To be clear:  when you get an email saying your Hub is eligible to be moved, the email always begins with a standard list of common Hub problems.   Don't worry about that list, it's not about your Hub.  Instead, look for the bit that says "Specific Issues" or "Additional Notes".   That's where the editor tells you what MUST be fixed before it can be moved.

                Fix the items in that section, then take a look at the other list - it's a standard list, so the editor is NOT complaining about ANY of those things in your Hub.  They're just reminding you that these are important elements, so you might spot a few places where you could tweak things, that's all.

                1. sallybea profile image99
                  sallybeaposted 7 months ago in reply to this

                  I have only in one case done more than was asked for because it was a felting tutorial which frankly I did not think was up to standard.  It was one which dated back to when Hubpages had video and they were asking me to use the same format as I usually do.   I generally only try to do only what is asked for.

                2. Titia profile image91
                  Titiaposted 7 months ago in reply to this

                  Yesterday I got two emails saying that a hub was snipped by a mod to be compliant to the rules to stay featured. When I opened the link they only had capitalized the title, nothing else. All subtitles were still not capitalized because I hadn't come around to do that yet.

                  I thought it was a bit strange that only having the title capitalized was sufficient to stay featured, but I'm not complaining. smile I'm reworking all my hubs anyway.

  4. RonElFran profile image96
    RonElFranposted 7 months ago

    Changes become publicly visible as soon as you save a capsule, not when you click "Done Editing". I've been using this as a feature during editing. I make a change, save the capsule, then look at the hub in another window of the browser (first using the F5 button to refresh that browser window) to see how the change looks. That way I can quickly toggle back and forth between the editor and the public view of my hub.

    I do see that if you are making massive changes, it's disconcerting to have intermediate stages publicly visible. How about a SAVE button? On the other hand, you certainly must retain the autosave feature or people will lose large amounts of their work if there's a glitch somewhere.

    1. Titia profile image91
      Titiaposted 7 months ago in reply to this

      It wouldn't be a problem when I only had to change one or two capsule, but what I do with my old hubs is a complete overhauling. It would be nice if we could do that behind the screens like you can do with hubs that haven't been published yet.

      I wouldn't mind to unpublish them for a while if they keep all their history when published again.

 
working