jump to last post 1-4 of 4 discussions (8 posts)

What are the consequences of deleting photos from "your photos" capsule?

  1. d.william profile image63
    d.williamposted 5 years ago

    What are the consequences of deleting photos from "your photos" capsule?

    When we download photos to use on a hub and then delete them from ''your photos" does this automatically remove them from the hubs you used them in?
    I am accumulating many photos under "your photos" and they are becoming cumbersome.  I cannot find anywhere that explains what happens when you delete them from "your photos".

  2. Jeff Berndt profile image85
    Jeff Berndtposted 5 years ago

    I don't have a useful answer for you, but maybe HP should think about coding a way for us to organize our photos in albums? It'd make it a lot easier for us to locate the particular photo we need for a given hub.

    1. d.william profile image63
      d.williamposted 5 years agoin reply to this

      That is a great idea.  I want to delete some of my photos, but do not want them removed from the articles.  I am not sure if that is possible or not.

  3. Lisa HW profile image71
    Lisa HWposted 5 years ago

    I've deleted most of mine that had accumulated, and they do get deleted from your Hubs.

    I had built up a giant accumulation of images that may have been fine enough as something added to a Hub, but the whole "collection" of them made my "recent images" part of my profile look like one, big, giant, collection of crappy images.  They were either "lightweight", public domain/clip art type of stuff (or maybe an illustration/graphic I did myself) or else they were my own not-particularly-expert photos of things like flowers or the sky (that I used to essentially add color to a Hub/subject that didn't particularly lend themselves to "relevant photos".  So, on my profile, was that big collection of either crappy clip-art type stuff or else my own "photography" (if you can call it that).  With my own stuff, though, I did want to retain control over where each image appeared; because I never know if I may want to use it somewhere else where a requirement is that an image has never been used anywhere else.  I used those "iffy" pictures because I thought they were still better than those canned Internet images that scream "canned".

    So a few months back I cleaned out most of four years' worth of pictures (except the few that I wanted left in their Hub) and got rid of most pictures from most of my Hubs.  A consequence, of course, is that my Hubs don't look like the latest version of "a stellar Hub" (which involves adding pictures and whatever else to one's Hub).  Recently I've added a few Hubs with pictures again (although one is a good public-domain one that actually looks good, and the other couple/few I added just to add some color to a few more visible Hubs on the profile.

    I took off my profile the stuff that I thought made it (and me) look horrible.  I have no reason to think it helped my traffic.  My traffic is about as low as its ever been (but so is a lot other people's).  Maybe stripping out all those pictures at a time when HP is pushing pictures in Hubs.  I can't be sure, but I have no reason to believe that removing pictures didn't put yet another dent in already dented traffic.  I knew I was taking that risk, but I had my reasons.  I, personally, don't think "cumbersome" is particularly the right reason for throwing one's whole bunch of Hubs into upheaval.   hmm   hmm   (Seeing them, and dealing with them (images), all in one, big, place like that is obnoxious though, isn't it??   smile   smile

    1. d.william profile image63
      d.williamposted 5 years agoin reply to this

      Lisa: Thanx for ur comments. by deleting from HP they R still at hand elsewhere on my PC. I was not sure how linked they were on HP 2 that 'obnoxious' collection called 'ur photos'.

    2. LillyGrillzit profile image79
      LillyGrillzitposted 4 years agoin reply to this

      I am unable to figure out how to delete my photos? Help.

  4. junkseller profile image84
    junksellerposted 5 years ago

    There is an option for adding photos to albums. While in the "Your Photos" section, right beneath the photo is a little bar which says "choose an album." Clicking on it brings up a list of existing albums. If none exist, or to create a new one, just type the name into the box. You can than restrict viewed photos by album.

    Also works while editing a photo in a hub. After clicking "My Photos" the option to "choose an album" is right below that highlighted in yellow. Works well, if you have some images you use in multiple hubs (borders, for instance).

    I'm not sure what happens when deleting images. I don't know if you noticed but hubpages seems to create multiple versions of every photo you upload. I don't think it was always that way. I think it is a relatively new change. I think how it used to work is that hubpages resized images when someone would call the page, which as you can imagine is time-consuming. Now, hubpages creates a 520 pixel-wide variant for full size photos and a 260 pixel variant for the half-page photos. The orginal photo will have a 7 digit number like this: XXXXXXX.jpg and the others will be XXXXXXX_f520.jpg and XXXXXXX_f260.jpg

    The point of this lengthy explanation, which I hopes make sense, is that it might be possible that Hubpages keeps a separate copy of the actual reduced-sized photos used in hubs so that deleting the originals from your photos might not impact that. Unless you can get an answer from them, some experimenting might have to be tried.

    1. d.william profile image63
      d.williamposted 5 years agoin reply to this

      Junkseller: thanx for the info, this is more than i learned by surfing HP for answers. I will move them to an album, & as U suggest try deleting one to see if affects the pix on that hub.

 
working