Stolen articles. I feel like giving up.

Jump to Last Post 1-19 of 19 discussions (43 posts)
  1. poppyr profile image93
    poppyrposted 19 months ago

Hi everyone. I've been writing for HubPages for several years now and enjoyed some success. But the copied articles are getting out of hand. Pretty much all my top earners have that little copyright claim red circle beside them. Recently one of my top earners was pasted into a forum and has cut my traffic by 70%. I tried reporting it, but the admins haven't taken it down.

It takes a long time to get even one article removed. A few months ago I had to contact a website directly about a hamster care article that had been stolen. It took so much back and forth and me having to prove I wrote it first before they finally took it down. But my articles are on fifty or more websites now and I simply don't have time to commit hours and hours to getting them removed.

It really makes me want to cry. I want to give up. Now I've taken another dip in earnings because lazy a**holes want to plagiarize my hard work. It's so lazy and petty.

1. Miebakagh57 profile image69
      Miebakagh57posted 19 months agoin reply to this

Poppyr, I'm so sorry that one of your top earning articles are again stolen.                                                 It's an online world. Good and bad things happen. Google, I've noted is perfecting a solution for this plagiarise challenge.                                        In the meantime, it could strick a chord if you report to Google, all your predicaments. Once again, sorry.

2. chef-de-jour profile image96
      chef-de-jourposted 19 months agoin reply to this

I know, it's frustrating and annoying but it's part of the writing life online. There'll always be cheats and ignoramuses. I sometimes use Google's DMCA form. If you've used it in the past you'll know all about it. You can list multiple offending URLs.   

https://www.google.com/webmasters/tools … B&rd=1