is HubPages for me?

Jump to Last Post 1-10 of 10 discussions (48 posts)
  1. John Serrano profile image61
    John Serranoposted 12 years ago

Hi, I'm completely new to freelance writing and I thought I'd give it a shot because writing is second nature to me and it's something I really enjoy. But I'm not sure if a website like HubPages fits what I want to write about. It's been suggested to me that blogging is more up my alley. What I want to write about (and pretty much the only thing I can write about ) is movies. I've been thinking about doing articles that are an analysis of the filmographies and techniques of some of the more prominent figures in the classic era like Charlie Chaplin, Buster Keaton, Jimmy Cagney, Frank Sinatra etc and maybe even more contemporary filmmakers like Richard Linklater or David Fincher or possibly foreign filmmakers like Michael Haneke or Jean-Luc Godard. It's been suggested to me that blogging would be better suited for that, seeing as hubs aren't meant to be 10,000 words long and that they also aren't meant to be read in a series (if I were to split up the 10,000 word article.)

My problem with blogging is that I'm not sure I want to go through all that effort trying to get my blog noticed. It seems like a lot of work and I'm not sure if my heart's in it. Mostly because I don't have much confidence in my writing ability. But I think that I'm fairly decent, so that's why I thought I'd give it a try. But then again, I'm thinking that it might take just as much effort to get my hubs (or any other articles I write on another site) noticed as well. I've seen people who have been members for years and still don't have much success. I realize that whether I pursue blogging or hubpages, that I won't become rich overnight, but I'm just not sure if any of this is for me.